Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    changing DNS servers on sky router ?

    This is a discussion on changing DNS servers on sky router ? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; ^^^^^^^^^^^^ Have a look at this article - OpenDNS > Support > Knowledge Base > Dynamic IP: Technical Details I ...

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: changing DNS servers on sky router ?

      ^^^^^^^^^^^^
      Have a look at this article -
      OpenDNS > Support > Knowledge Base > Dynamic IP: Technical Details

      I think it answers your problem. There is a great deal of information available on the OpenDNS site, a look through their forum might be beneficial -
      OpenDNS Community > Forums > All Discussions

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: changing DNS servers on sky router ?

      what does the ISP assigned IP address have to do with internally changing the DNS addresses that are used ?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: changing DNS servers on sky router ?

      I am sorry I can be of no help, but it is very obvious from reading the forum that OpenDNS can and is used with Leopard. If you are unwilling to pursue it, that is up to you

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: changing DNS servers on sky router ?

      i am using opendns with leopard, but as i said you need to use a static IP address to be able to remove "192.168.0.1" from the DNS server listed. with DHCP that DNS server is greyed out and cannot be removed as it has been dhcp assigned.

      the screengrabs on the opendns help page are wrong and i can show screengrabs of how it should look if anyone doesn't believe me.

      if anyone who is currently using OS X leopard 10.5.3 and has opendns configured without using a static ip address then i am happy to listen to them. however if you don't use OS X or have never used it, then giving advice on what someone should be doing is not of much help.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION