Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    can only wireless connect no cable connection?

    This is a discussion on can only wireless connect no cable connection? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I have been using usb adaptors for internet connections with no problems.I have just tried hard wiring my sky ...

    1. #1
      katconfuzer's Avatar
      katconfuzer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      can only wireless connect no cable connection?

      Hi I have been using usb adaptors for internet connections with no problems.I have just tried hard wiring my sky netgear DG834 GT router but have no connection at all. No green light at no. 1 .I am at a loss to what I have to do.The NVIDIA nforce networking controller shows up as working ok in properties.How do I check which end the problem is.? I think it is something to do with my p.c. I have an evga 780i motherboard.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: can only wireless connect no cable connection?

      If there is no green light on the router or the network card, it could be:

      1) The cable is broken or not pushed in correctly

      2) The router is faulty

      3) The network card is not enabled possibly in the bios

      Does the network adpater show in device manager? Have you got two network controllers on the motherboard? One disabled etc?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      katconfuzer's Avatar
      katconfuzer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: can only wireless connect no cable connection?

      i have tried connecting a lap top too using 2 different cables no.1 does not light up.the local area connection says no cable is in.looks like i am stuck with wireless

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: can only wireless connect no cable connection?

      You may have to turn off the wireless adapter to connect a laptop by ethernet. I don't think both will work at the same time. There may be a switch on the laptop or you may have to do it with the software.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: can only wireless connect no cable connection?

      Vista does allows two connections, wired and wireless, simultaneously...not sure about XP though...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION