Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    New firmware but less reliable connection

    This is a discussion on New firmware but less reliable connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Since the new firmware was released a couple of months (or maybe more now!) ago, my router has had a ...

    1. #1
      smokingreen's Avatar
      smokingreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New firmware but less reliable connection

      Since the new firmware was released a couple of months (or maybe more now!) ago, my router has had a less stable connection. The main reason for this is that I used to use this command:

      http://192.168.0.1/setup.cgi?todo=pi...gure+--snr+200

      I found it on these forums about 18months ago, essentially this slowed down the sync speed meaning that although the connection was in theory slower it was actually rock solid and I could still sync at ~9000kbps which was plenty fast enough, and it was very good for gaming as I rarely had any lag/packet loss.

      That command no longer works for the new firmware, and although the new firmware is clearly an improvement when the noise ratio is around 7.0db, it still insists on syncing at high speeds even when the noise is around 5.0db at which point gaming becomes seriously laggy and a router reboot is required.

      Does anyone know of a similar command that can be used for the new firmware, or another way that I can 'slow' the connection down so that it is more stable? My line seems to be most noisy in the evening, so I try to reboot it then, but the router will always re-sync to a higher speed in the day, but then not change back in the evenings... very frustrating!

      Anyway... thanks for reading, if you have any advice it is most welcome!

      G


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: New firmware but less reliable connection


    4. #3
      smokingreen's Avatar
      smokingreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New firmware but less reliable connection

      Spot on! Thanks!


    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New firmware but less reliable connection

      If you want it at your fingertips, try James' Firmware it works with the new FW and does much more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      smokingreen's Avatar
      smokingreen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New firmware but less reliable connection

      Ok, wow, that's even better!

      Not exactly sure how it all works so I've set the target noise margin to 9.0db, I will see how it goes from there.

      Thanks alot!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION