Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's

    This is a discussion on Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I'm after some help in setting up my two DG834GT's using the WDS function that is now available. Basically ...

    1. #1
      DayvG's Avatar
      DayvG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waterlooville
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's

      Hi, I'm after some help in setting up my two DG834GT's using the WDS function that is now available. Basically I want to extend the range to cover the whole of my house. If someone has managed to configure these routers in that way could you please post your settings and the procedure on how to do it.

      Thanks in advance

      DayvG


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's

      I've a feeling the DG834GT doesn't support WDS. Netgear's site has a FAQ on using the router as an additional wireless access point in order to increase coverage.

      You connect the second router by (a hopefully long) ethernet cable to the first, I think you set a fixed IP address on the second router and disable DHCP.

    4. #3
      DayvG's Avatar
      DayvG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waterlooville
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's

      Hi and thanks for your reply. The latest firmware of the DG834GT shows an advanced wireless option and from within there you can select wireless bridging and from there either wireless point mode bridge or wireless repeater mode bridge.
      Now from reading about WDS I believe I should be able to wirelessly link the two routers together, one in one room handling the internet connection and the other in another room talking to the first and extending the overall wireless range.

      Only problem is I'm struggling to set it up, in fact I'm at a loss.

    5. #4
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's

      You mean the retail version of the Netgear firmware, not Sky's simplified version.

    6. #5
      DayvG's Avatar
      DayvG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waterlooville
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's

      Yes, the retail version of the firmware.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Wireless Distribution With two DG834GT's


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION