Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

    This is a discussion on Sagen Router and VPN Issues again within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Take a look HERE if you want to obtain your ADSL username and password, but be aware it is against ...

    1. #11
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      Take a look HERE if you want to obtain your ADSL username and password, but be aware it is against the T&C's to use another router.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      tweeks's Avatar
      tweeks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Angry Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      Hi

      I'm struggling and would appreciate someones help.

      I've been with Sky the past 4 months and everything has been ok. However, I've recently started a new job and need to access VPN whilst at home.

      As you realise this is not possible. I have a Sagem router.

      After reading this blog and seeing it was possible to obtain the username/passwords I went out and bought a nice Linksys router (WAG160N) as it says it's easy to set up VPN.

      To cut to the chase...I set up the Linksys router and went through the set up to set the Sky password/username.

      It still doesn;t work. The linksys even has a MAC clone tool....so I set that to the same MAC address as the Sagem unit ( and i tried both the MAC address options...The LAN and ADSL).

      Nothing I've done works and I'm getting frustrated. Even a call to Sky playing dumb asking for their help resulted in me giving the guy some choice words before putting the phone down.

      Can anyone help? Otherwise I'm gonna have to get a second line fitted at home from BT or the like.!!!!

      thanks

    4. #13
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      Quote Originally Posted by tweeks View Post
      Even a call to Sky playing dumb asking for their help resulted in me giving the guy some choice words before putting the phone down.
      Choice words? For doing his job? Well aren't you a charmer. Use of other routers is against Ts and Cs, use of the Sky residential service for work purposes again is against Ts and Cs so why ring Sky for support and then get abusive when you don't hear what you want to hear?

    5. #14
      tweeks's Avatar
      tweeks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      Hi
      Just to be clear..... My choice words were in fact polite and non-abusive..hence my comment on why they were chosen.

      He was unable to help me with my questions but did "un-officially" suggest that I look to the Sagem website for help.

    6. #15
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      there is a solution do it btw...

      see post #39 HERE and read rest of thread...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    7. #16
      tweeks's Avatar
      tweeks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      Just a thought. Do you think it could be an issue trying to access my router via Wireless rather than through Cat5 cable ? Would it make any difference ( have to try when I get home).

    8. #17
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      Quote Originally Posted by tweeks View Post
      Hi
      Just to be clear..... My choice words were in fact polite and non-abusive..hence my comment on why they were chosen.

      He was unable to help me with my questions but did "un-officially" suggest that I look to the Sagem website for help.
      Sagem support is naff all to be honest, we try where possible to help but have you seen their own site?

    9. #18
      tweeks's Avatar
      tweeks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      I think Sky are missing a trick. I've been talking to fellow workmates...and with VPN they are able to work from home obviously. The big deal is...they're working greener.....no long drives to/from work...therefore saving money and the planet. I have to drive 60 miles a day.....thats 300 a week.

      Wouldn't it be a great angle for SKY to explote this message and promote working from home via VPN....and so be seen to be greener. A very easy way to carbon off-set

    10. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      I doubt if this will happen, if Sky did a U turn and advertised their service as suitable for business purposes, they would then have to give guarantees about the quality of their service. This would involve much more expense and would defeat their object of bringing broadband to the masses.

      Several members have proved that it is perfectly possible to enable VNP with the Sagem router after stating that it was not possible. I am sure if you follow the advice give in the earlier part of this thread and the link given by IANTE you will also succeed.

      With regards setting up your other router THIS thread by Mossywell gives all the information that is necessary. Spoofing the MAC address is not one of the necessities. Apart from the ADSL username and password the only other details you need to enter are-
      Encapsulation: PPPoA
      VPI/VCI: 0/38
      Multiplexing: VC

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #20
      tweeks's Avatar
      tweeks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagen Router and VPN Issues again

      Hi
      Just been checking the logs for my alternative router and it reports the following..

      LCP is allowed to come up
      CHAP authorisation failed
      LCP down

      I assume this means my password and/or username are incorrect ?

      Tried to run the app a few times and the resultant details are always the same

      Frustrating or what ?

      thanks

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION