Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router IP address

    This is a discussion on Router IP address within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have a Netgear v2 router. 192.168.0.1 - which seems to be the default IP address for Sky routers - ...

    1. #1
      hnmcc's Avatar
      hnmcc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01353
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Router IP address

      I have a Netgear v2 router. 192.168.0.1 - which seems to be the default IP address for Sky routers - doesn't work for me. Nor does anything else I've tried!

      Any suggestions?

      Thanks, H


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      GRM's Avatar
      GRM
      GRM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Oadby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router IP address

      Define "doesn't work for me".

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Router IP address

      I take it you cannot log into the router, can you check that you are not manually specifying an IP address on the PC?

    5. #4
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router IP address

      After connecting the router to computer by ethernet, in Windows go Start, All Programs, Accessories, Command Prompt and type IPCONFIG/ALL and press Enter.
      This should list IP Addresses -- the one next to the word gateway should be the router.

      If not, check your Network card is working (go Control Panel, System, Hardware, Device Manager).

    6. #5
      hnmcc's Avatar
      hnmcc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01353
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router IP address

      Thanks all: of course, IPCONFIG (now why didn't I remember that myself???) revealed the truth.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      32,327
      Thanks
      51
      Thanked 1,541 Times in 1,502 Posts

      Re: Router IP address

      ^^^^^^^
      Which was? Unless you changed it you had the correct address above. If you have ICS configured, XP will use the same address for the PC, which causes conflicts.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO