Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Speed drop...

    This is a discussion on Speed drop... within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've been with Sky Broadband about 4 months now... I signed up for the Max Broadband package so that I ...

    1. #1
      Bebbs's Avatar
      Bebbs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01934
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed drop...

      I've been with Sky Broadband about 4 months now... I signed up for the Max Broadband package so that I could get unlimited downloads, even though my phoneline can only handle about 6.5megs when it comes to speed. In the first two months I was amazed at the speed of broadband I was getting - I was getting up to 7megs according to online broadband speed tests and there didn't seem to be any slowdown at all.

      In the last two months the speed of the broadband has slowed down significantly though, and I can't figure out why. There hasn't been any BT work on lines as far as I can figure out, but the speed of my downloading has dropped to about 1.5megs at all times! There isn't any difference in speed between my wireless and when I'm connected to the router directly, either. I've tried TCOptimizer but it doesn't seem to have had much of an effect and from what I can see my line attenuation looks pretty good.

      Do you have any ideas on what I can do to get my speed back up??



      System Up Time: 0:26:25
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 8 5 0 0 0 0:01:02
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 0:26:25
      WLAN 14613 11148 0 0 0 0:26:03
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 16.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.7 db 14.0 db

      Thanks in advance!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Speed drop...

      You should be achieving the full 16meg for max. Plug the router into your master socket, and try that.

    4. #3
      Bebbs's Avatar
      Bebbs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01934
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop...

      I've tried the Master socket and there's no difference (they're only about 10 meters apart too). I know I wouldn't be getting the full 16megs because my line can only handle about 6.5, but I'd expect to be hitting that regularly as I'm paying for Max...

      Here are the stat's from the Master socket... Are these the detailed ones you need to spot what's going on?

      Router Statistics

      System Up Time: 0:04:52
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1954 3083 0 0 0 0:03:11
      LAN 15 0 0 0 0 0:04:52
      WLAN 3825 2556 0 0 0 0:04:30
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 16.5 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 14.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      It looks like I've been capped at 8megs for some reason, but that wouldn't explain why I'm still only getting 1.5megs on a regular basis, would it? Is there anything else I'm missing??

      Cheers!

    5. #4
      Bebbs's Avatar
      Bebbs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01934
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop...

      Randomly, every time I do a speed test it tells me that my ISP is Easynet..... Does everyone else get that?!

    6. #5
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Speed drop...

      Easynet is the network owned by Sky. So yes everyone on Sky would get that.

      BT say my line can only handle 1.5 meg. I am syncing at 4meg at the mo. Your line ATT (Distance from the exchange) is 29. You should be getting the full 16meg. I have a feeling you may have been capped or put on GDMT.

    7. #6
      Bebbs's Avatar
      Bebbs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01934
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop...

      Thanks for that... I'll get straight onto Sky now!

      2xlast questions (soz, I'm a newbie)...

      1. What's GDMT?
      2. What's the difference between connect speed & sync speed??

      Thanks again for your help!

    8. #7
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Speed drop...

      Although from the master socket the Noise Margin seems high 9.3 does seem as though you have been capped. Maybe someone with a bit more knowledge can confirm this. Have you tried the test socket?


    9. #8
      Bebbs's Avatar
      Bebbs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01934
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed drop...

      I haven't tried testing the socket, but I can give it a whirl... I called Sky and they said they'd do some tests on the line and that I'd get a call back in 48hours.

      The guy I was speaking to said that the downstream connection speed (8096) was because my line can only handle 6megs, but surely if I'm on the Max package it should be connected at 15000ish, even if I'm only downloading at the maximum capacity my line can handle...? (I'm sure it was a few months ago too, but I didn't do a print screen so I can't be sure).

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION