Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Broken Netgear Router

    This is a discussion on Broken Netgear Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My netgear router has been working fine for about 8 months but i turned it on the other day and ...

    1. #1
      uk_judgement's Avatar
      uk_judgement is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sevenoaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Broken Netgear Router

      My netgear router has been working fine for about 8 months but i turned it on the other day and the green power light and amber test light began flashing alternately, with no other lights on the router lit up. My computer wont see the router and i cant connect to the internet for anything.

      Now, i am rather limited in techincal knowledge, but i do realise that there is something wrong, but i didnt know if anyone else had had this problem and managed to fix it?

      I did make the mistake of calling sky, and while they were not great help techincally, they did order me a new router which arrived today - a black Sagem one (and the BB box says version 3 on it).

      Can anyone offer advice on:
      • can my netgear one be fixed?
      • can i just plug all the cables in the back of the new one and go, or do i need to re-install the software on the cd? ;and
      • do i need anything else, or any other advice?


      Thanks for any help!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broken Netgear Router

      it's locked itself in the FW update - probably bricked...

      as you have a new one, just plug it in and off you go as before - no software needed, only have to reconfigure wireless if you use it...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      uk_judgement's Avatar
      uk_judgement is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sevenoaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kent
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broken Netgear Router

      Thanks for that, i'll try it.
      I have also been advised that i might try downloading the netgear router recovery tool - but i wont bother if the sagem router is as good as the netgear one.....trying to find some thread with what people think but no luck yet.
      Is one of them better than the other?

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Broken Netgear Router

      the Phase 2 routers (dark grey/black in colour) are better than the original Phase 1 Netgear routers but the new FW is meant to make the equal - I've only had experience of the Phase 2 Netgear and it's been rock solid for what I use it for...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Broken Netgear Router

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      it's been rock solid for what I use it for...
      A doorstop

    7. #6
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broken Netgear Router

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      A doorstop
      LOL

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION