Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Change Ip address?

    This is a discussion on Change Ip address? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; How do I change my IP address with Sky Broadband?...

    1. #1
      Ionium's Avatar
      Ionium is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Change Ip address?

      How do I change my IP address with Sky Broadband?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Change Ip address?

      Reboot the router

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?

      exactly the same way as describe in your previous duplicate post:

      Change IP Address?

    5. #4
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?

      Just reboot the router. Everytime you do you will be assigned a new ip address

    6. #5
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?

      Snap lol

    7. #6
      Ionium's Avatar
      Ionium is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?

      I am gemini I have to do things twice.... its an OCD
      Hmmm but that aside the technical details of rebooting the server are? as in it changes my IP dynamically or am I stuck with another Static ip addy?

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?

      it will keep the same IP address whilst connected to the exchange. You could always put a power timer that the router plugs into to switch off the power for a couple of mins each night in the early hours. This would mean a new IP address each day.

      Any reason why you need one that chnages so often as most want a static address.

    9. #8
      Ionium's Avatar
      Ionium is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?

      Hmmm a dwarfer! Boys from the dwarfffffffff smeggggggggg head!

      Ooh you nosy person...
      Why?
      I am paranoid git answer your question?

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?

      What difference do you think it makes? Sky know who is using any particular address at at any time. They have to, just in case they are asked to trace a particular download by the old Bill or any other legal authority.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      slimeblue's Avatar
      slimeblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 1978
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Change Ip address?


      I am gemini I have to do things twice.... its an OCD
      Hmmm but that aside the technical details of rebooting the server are? as in it changes my IP dynamically or am I stuck with another Static ip addy?



      When rebooting your PC, the Dhcp gives you an IP address available. You might fine it different the next time you reboot your PC or Laptop.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION