Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router upgrade does not work

    This is a discussion on Router upgrade does not work within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have attempted to upgrade my DG834GT router to FW version 1.03.87 as I feel it may speed up my ...

    1. #1
      geoffwba's Avatar
      geoffwba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Birmingham Great Barr
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Router upgrade does not work

      I have attempted to upgrade my DG834GT router to FW version 1.03.87 as I feel it may speed up my Broadband connection.The upload starts but I do not get the "upgrading firmware" message, as advised on SKY's PDF file, only a little blue box with egg timer which says "please wait". After the router lights stop flashing, the upgrade seems to hang for several minutes and the router does not restart.After hard booting the router (as suggested by SKY) I find that the FW has not upgraded and is still the old version. Any suggestions, or should I just wait until the upgrade happens automatically?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Router upgrade does not work

      You should be ok to do it manually, just make sure you have the firmware saved to a local hard drive, connect the pc to the router with ethernet and turn off any unecessary hardware that is connected to the router. If it fails then something is causing it and if it won't work manually you will have the same issue when it does it automatically off the exchange, best to get it sorted now rather than have your router stuffed up if it fails.

    4. #3
      geoffwba's Avatar
      geoffwba is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Great Barr
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Birmingham Great Barr
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router upgrade does not work

      OK Thanks for info. Fortunately the router still works OK, albeit on the old firmware and I have saved the router's configuration, just in case. Would be interesting to know what's preventing the upgrade though. Do you think it may be my AVG antivirus software? I am using Windows Vista by the way.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router upgrade does not work

      It shouldn't really, I did mine with the same AV and OS. Unplug everything except the PC you are using and remember it must be wired. It does take quite a few minutes to upgrade, so try it again and this time go and make yourself a cup of tea while you wait.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router upgrade does not work

      download the FW again and check the filesize as it should be around 2Mb. I downloaded and first time the file saize was only a few Kb.

    7. #6
      yorkie_pudd's Avatar
      yorkie_pudd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Intake, Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: SKy MAX (was forced adsl2+ on my netgear but god knows what i'm on now)
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Hackenthorpe, Sheffield
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router upgrade does not work

      I had this with mine (connected wirelessly only btw)

      Powered the router down, back on, then did the FW upgrade. Worked fine like that (although it didn't reboot itself after the upgrade - I did that myself after 15 mins)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION