Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sagem, rebooting?

    This is a discussion on Sagem, rebooting? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I notice that my downstream data rates change overnight... I reset my router late last night, to get a better ...

    1. #1
      donelson's Avatar
      donelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Morden, Surrey
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem, rebooting?

      I notice that my downstream data rates change overnight...

      I reset my router late last night, to get a better noise margin. Downstream rate was around 8600 kpbs.

      Now I see that the data rate has gone up to around 9700 kbps and I have not rebooted the router.

      Does the router reboot itself?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Topkidben's Avatar
      Topkidben is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby - EMTHRNB
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      136
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem, rebooting?

      Yes this has happened to me before do the routers reboot themselves?

    4. #3
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem, rebooting?

      The router shouldn't reboot as such, although it will retrain from time to time. This means that the connection between the router and the exchange equipment is brought down, and renegotiated from scratch. This is a normal part of the way that ADSL works.

    5. #4
      donelson's Avatar
      donelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Morden, Surrey
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem, rebooting?

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      ...it will retrain from time to time...
      How often? Once a day, once a week?

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem, rebooting?

      It depends on what time of the day it is when you switch the router on. The first few days you might get three or four retrains, but then the router should have found a profile which it can hold for a an extended period of time. Depending on how much the noise levels change on your line, the router should be able to hold the connection for anything from a few days to several weeks, if your line is very stable.

    7. #6
      donelson's Avatar
      donelson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Morden, Surrey
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem, rebooting?

      This is weird...

      Right now (1:30am) I am getting an apparently good connection with only 4.9 dB of noise margin...

      On the Netgear, everything was crap at any noise margin below around 6.0 !

      Explanation?

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem, rebooting?

      The noise margin is intended to allow for changes in the noise levels of the phone line. In theory, the router ought to be able to hold the connection at even lower levels than the 4.9dB you saw.

      The old firmware on the Sky DG834GT router, however, wasn't able to handle changes in noise levels properly, and that's one of the main problems which the new V1.03.87 firmware was intended to address.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION