Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    What speed am I getting?

    This is a discussion on What speed am I getting? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Isitme It makes it easier for members to reply with good advice when your Profile is up-to-date ...

    1. #11
      lily48's Avatar
      lily48 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01296
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      It makes it easier for members to reply with good advice when your Profile is up-to-date
      Thanks, but how do I update my profile as I am now using a sky router? I have tried to update but do not know how?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      Click the User Control Panel button, next to Home on the menu bar at the top of the page. There you will find everything you need to set up your Profile.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      Quote Originally Posted by lily48 View Post
      I have getting these now, does that mean my speed goes up and down during the day? It seems I am getting a faster speed than yesterday? Am I correct? I am all new to this. Thanks

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 4:15:52

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 61066 81653 0 0 0 4:14:41
      LAN 82509 62230 0 0 0 4:15:52
      WLAN 0 0 0 0 0 4:15:30
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3584 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 59.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 14.0 db

      Poll Interval: (secs)
      Are these stats from the test socket then ?


    5. #14
      lily48's Avatar
      lily48 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01296
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      No, it's not from the test socket, the same socket like before.Anyway quite happy as it is, thanks very much for your help.

    6. #15
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      NM usually varies during the day, unless I'm mistaken sync speed should only alter if you reboot the router at a quieter time allowing a higher sync to be achieved.


    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      Looking at the stats, the uptime and the post time, it looks like the router was rebooted between 10 and 11 am, a fairly quiet time, which would account for the higher sync. Booting in the evening would probably give a lower sync with a more stable connection.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      lily48's Avatar
      lily48 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01296
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Buckinghamshire
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      Thanks, I have noticed nearly everybody is using the Netgear. I have got the Sagem, is it a rubbish router? Thanks

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: What speed am I getting?

      For about the first year or so Sky only issued Netgears, that is why the majority have them. Their Version 2 routers are either Netgear or Sagem, which appear to be issued in equal numbers. I don't know if anyone knows the exact numbers. The V2 routers are similar in performance and were superior to the V1 routers, before the V1 firmware upgrade. It remains to be seen how they will perform with the upgrade. In other words the Sagem is no better or worse than the Netgear, it seems to depend on the individual router and the line it is being used on.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION