Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Main PC does not mount networked drive

    This is a discussion on Main PC does not mount networked drive within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I have just subscribed to Sky broadband. I have a blck netgear router, cabled to a switch. also connected ...

    1. #1
      mpegjohn's Avatar
      mpegjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Main PC does not mount networked drive

      Hi,
      I have just subscribed to Sky broadband.
      I have a blck netgear router, cabled to a switch. also connected to the switch is my PC, a network drive, and a linux box.
      In the past I have had fixed IP addresses for all the boxes on the network and all has been OK.
      Now I switched on the automatic IP allocation on my PC, which works, and my network drive.
      I can load the config web page from the hard drive on my PC, using the address that I know the drive has been given.
      However I can't locate it on the network using windows, and I can't mount it as a drive.
      Any ideas what is going on please.

      Regards,
      John.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Main PC does not mout networked drive

      It may have been easier if you had stuck to allocated adresses and simply changed them to suit the router.

      I also had problems with a network drive and in the end gave it it's own address. I gave it the top address in the range ie 192.168.0.254 and made the top address in the server range ......253. This worked for me, but I do not use a switch, as there are enough ports on the router for my needs. I can see the point of a switch with a single port router, but do you really need it with 4 available on the router?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      mpegjohn's Avatar
      mpegjohn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Main PC does not mout networked drive

      Thanks for the response.
      The reason I use a switch is that the router is some distance from the main PC, and I ony want 1 lan cable running to it.
      The other reason is that I like the flashing lights......
      I will try your suggestion of going back to fixed IP's.
      How do I make the router cope with this?

      Regards,
      John

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Main PC does not mout networked drive

      Just assign IP addresses to each PC and make sure you do not use 192.168.0.1 for any of the PCs, asign a 192.168.0.X ip address to each PC, asign the router IP as the default gateway/ DNS ip and see what happens.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Main PC does not mout networked drive

      You don't really need to assign the router as the DNS server, in fact many find that using the OpenDNS server addresses give better results than using the default Sky addresses. These are

      Preferred 208.67.222.222
      Alternate 208.67.220.220

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION