Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 15

    DG934G Router Noise Margin

    This is a discussion on DG934G Router Noise Margin within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I have just installed Sky Mid broadband and am getting connections speeds of around 5Mbps, and occassional droupouts when ...

    1. #1
      staresy's Avatar
      staresy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DG934G Router Noise Margin

      Hi I have just installed Sky Mid broadband and am getting connections speeds of around 5Mbps, and occassional droupouts when streaming radio stations (ie after a few hours).

      I notice from the router stats that the noise margin fluctautes from 12db up to 0db, but the connection seems to hold in.

      Is a 0dB reading normal/OK for this router?
      DrS


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      its fine for your router, i have seen others on here who get the same, what it does show, is you have a noisy line. most of the time this is down to internal wiring. post your stats as they are now and then do a test from your "test" socket (see first link in my sig) and post your stats back

    4. #3
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      It could also be that there are errors building up on the line.

    5. #4
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1310 View Post
      It could also be that there are errors building up on the line.
      No, seriously, can people stop saying that, please?

      It sounds plausible to anyone who knows next to nothing about the technicalities of ADSL, but the truth is it's just a piece of absolute nonsense.

      The total error count will, of course, always "build up", but on its own, the error count doesn't mean anything. It's the error rate that impacts on data throughput, and if there is interference on the line which causes, say, 50 errors per minute, you won't get 50 errors in the first minute, 100 errors in the next, and 150 errors in the minute after that.

      The only reason why you used to see that behaviour with V1 routers was because of a bug in the ADSL driver code. It's not the normal or expected behaviour of an ADSL connection, so can we please stop suggesting that it is.

    6. #5
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      So what you are saying is that it does not matter how many errors are on the line and it is not just for v1 router errors are caused by a number of things eg:fault on the line etc..

      And secondly errors drop aswell they do not just build up.

      And thirdly staresy has a v2 router.

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      Quote Originally Posted by jonny1310 View Post
      So what you are saying is that it does not matter how many errors are on the line and it is not just for v1 router errors are caused by a number of things eg:fault on the line etc..
      I'm saying that it's the error rate that determines if the user experiences a slow down due to excessive errors on their line. And the error rate should only increase if the level of interference that is causing the errors is increasing. The problem with talking about "errors building up" is that it sounds like, I dunno, toxins building up in the environment, but it really doesn't (or at least shouldn't) work like that.

      If there is a source of interference on the line, at a level that causes 1 out of every 100 superframes to be corrupt, then you'll get around about 10 error packets out of the first 1000 packets, and you'll still get about 10 error packets out of packets 1,000,000,001 to 1,000,001,000.

      Basically, the reason why the idea of "errors building up" is nonsense, is because although it's true that the error count always increases, it's the error rate that impacts on the user's experience, and that doesn't build up unless the source of the errors (i.e., the interference or noise) is getting stronger.

    8. #7
      staresy's Avatar
      staresy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      OK,
      Did a bit of re-wiring on the internal phone cabling (removed the ring wire and tidied up a few bits and pieces), the noise margin is now a much more respectable level (hovering between 7-10dB).

      Also tried optimising the MTU and RWIN settings as per your links and my 8mbps line which did run at around 5mbps, now flies along at 7+mbps! Not bad seeing how at my distance from the exchange the estimated max speed was around 5mbps.

      Also, it's been streaming a radio channel overnight with no problems.

      So all in all a big thankyou for your help.

      I might just take the last step now and install Adslnation faceplates to see if I can eek out that last little bit...

      Not bad for 5 a month (cw 18 per month for 2mbps with my previous cable ISP).

      Rgds,
      DrS

    9. #8
      bdowson's Avatar
      bdowson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01778
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      I started with Sky broadband one week ago. On replacing my previous Ozenda router I immediately noticed crackling noise in my telephones (I kept everything else the same, including Speedtouch filters). I have used my new Sky DG934G router and the previous Netgear DG834GT (loaned) and the result is the same. I have moved routers, disconnected phones, changed filters etc etc. The culprit is always the same: turn off the router and everything is OK. I only managed to reduce most of the noise by using one particular filter I had in my cupboard from 2 or 3 years ago (don't know the brand). The Sky filters were appalling. I am waiting for comments from Sky broadband customer service.

    10. #9
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      The router is broke.

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: DG934G Router Noise Margin

      Which one, he's (she's) used 2 with the same results ?
      This may suggest a problem at sky's end ?


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION