Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    poor wifi signal on dg934g

    This is a discussion on poor wifi signal on dg934g within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by Isitme The new router has been opened and the aerial is on the bottom, which means if ...

    1. #11
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The new router has been opened and the aerial is on the bottom, which means if it is sitting flat the best signal is going into the surface it is sitting on. Stand the router on end and point the bottom in the direction you want to receive. Also try Channel 13, for some reason many seem to think this does not work, probably due to incorrect info given by Sky.

      Edit - Sky do not say you cannot use another router, only that you must use their one to connect to the internet. There is nothing to stop you connecting another router to the Sagem/Netgear and using it's wireless capabilities.
      it appears though that the "bridging" mode has been removed, as it is nowhere to be seen. could end up having "double NAT" issues.

      the router is already sitting upright using the feet supplied.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      You can try the following.

      Use the feet (Helps alot)

      change the channels.

      Try those.
      already using the feet.
      already tried different channels (as per first post).

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      it appears though that the "bridging" mode has been removed
      You do not use bridging mode, you plug the other router into an ethernet port. If you do a search on the Forum for 'extend wireless' you will find plenty to go on

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      so what happens when both routers try to do the same job ?

      ie NAT, uPnp ?

      you have to disable those on one of the routers at least.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      Basically it requires disabling the wireless and UPnP on the Netgear and disabling DHCP on the other router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      and will that stop both routers trying to do NAT ?

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      I don't think so, but it is not crucial. I think it may slow down the connection very slightly, but that is all.

      If you are convinced it is the router to blame, why not extract the username and password and set up your own router. If it works better, then you can think about using the Netgear as the modem and your own as the router, to keep you within the T & Cs. Don't forget that the fault may be with your laptop, even Macs are not infallible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      chenks's Avatar
      chenks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WSIRV
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      60
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      just an update on this.

      i stuck in a netgear wifi card in another PC i have (in the bedroom).... and the wifi is just as poor on that as well.

      getting approx 75% signal strength.

      tried to play some video files that are stored on the media server (which is wired to the router)... and it kept jumping and freezing (the audio kept playing but the video stopped)... plays fine when on ethernet.

      the bedroom is at most 25feet away (straight line) from the router.. it's a 2 bedroom flat.

    10. #19
      Kitch9's Avatar
      Kitch9 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: poor wifi signal on dg934g

      Quote Originally Posted by chenks View Post
      just an update on this.

      i stuck in a netgear wifi card in another PC i have (in the bedroom).... and the wifi is just as poor on that as well.

      getting approx 75% signal strength.

      tried to play some video files that are stored on the media server (which is wired to the router)... and it kept jumping and freezing (the audio kept playing but the video stopped)... plays fine when on ethernet.

      the bedroom is at most 25feet away (straight line) from the router.. it's a 2 bedroom flat.

      I feel your pain......My signal was the same......

      dLAN Wireless extender Starter Kit

      I bought some of these and they are the best bit of wireless equipment I've ever bought. They just work with no grumbling and provide a high signal all through the house. Hell even my mate over the street says he gets 60% signal from them.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION