Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 52

    line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

    This is a discussion on line stats have gotton worse with the new modem! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; it wont really make a difference if I get capped higher? The speed what increase?...

    1. #41
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      it wont really make a difference if I get capped higher? The speed what increase?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      Hi touran22.
      What Richone means is that it will make no differance to your internet use.
      Before you contact Sky about this, monitor your line over a couple of days. See how your noise margin changes.
      My own view would be to leave well alone if everthing is nice an stable.

    4. #43
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      hmmm yea I'll do that but if it is stable shall I increase my Capp?

    5. #44
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      Dog and bone spring to mind

    6. #45
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      Phoning Sky and telling them that you want the cap lifted, could result in your speed being further reduced. If the CS look at your line and see errors they are more likely to bring it down instead of up. I doubt if you will see any 'real world' difference even if you managed to get the extra 677 kbps.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #46
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      you're line will be set to 16384, but the nature of the connection will sync at 15323...reducing the delays will make it 'sync' faster but will be no faster in the real world

      not worth the hassle IMO...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #47
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      oh ok, but then what about this?

      Max(Kbps): 17580 864

      im getting more that i should am i not? how do i check my detailed stats with the new sagem routers? the 934 model? i want to check if i still have any errors on my line 24 hours later...

    9. #48
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      That is the maximum your line is capable of, not what you are getting.

      You cannot get detailed stats from the V2 routers at the moment. There is no reason why you should not use your V1 router, there is probably nothing wrong with it. Sky like to send out replacement routers for anything they have a bit difficulty in fixing. One day they will realize the error of their ways and start really trouble-shooting, before they waste money sending out new routers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #49
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      no i think there is something wrong with my v1 router becuase it keeps turning off after like 2 hours? i guess ill use teh v1 router to get the deatiled stats now and again.

      isit bad if the router is on constantly without being turning off? my router is on for like 2/3 months without turning it off.

    11. #50
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      A bit of a contradiction is it not, you have only had the new router a few weeks and your old one kept turning off so how can it have been running for months

      This aside, routers are designed to run 24/7/52 if you want to. Some never turn their router off others shut down when it's not in use, it is up to you.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION