Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 52

    line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

    This is a discussion on line stats have gotton worse with the new modem! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Have a look in the cabling and faceplate forum, there should be a few threads with pics in...

    1. #31
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      Have a look in the cabling and faceplate forum, there should be a few threads with pics in


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      dude i just got back home and i inspected my master socket. before that i took off all the other wires etc from my house that i could of think off and lastly i came to my master socket.

      Upon closer inspection there was some sort of wire coming form inside the skirting board into my socket. i took the wire off from my faceplate so nothing was connected except my router: voila i had my full sync speed back.

      i inspected further this wire that came from the skirting boards and i followed it and it lead to my TV and i found that it was connected to my sky digibox. furthermore behind the counter where my box is there was rolls of this white wire which i checked and was the wire that lead to my mastersocket. it appears that the sky engineer that came to my house to fit the sky hadnt done the best of jobs and left alot of wire that was coming loose etc. i unlplugged that sky one and put everythign else back on and here i am with my stable connection once more.... heres my stats (the noise margin etc has improved significantly aswell !!!!) im well chuffed and thanks for all your support!!!!!

      i also think that all my errors on my line etc where based on that one bad sky extension wire!

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.9 12.0
      Attn(dB): 19.0 11.2
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17580 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 46263 46261
      SFErr: 272 1
      RS: 6014214 393218
      RSCorr: 6622 1
      RSUnCorr: 15032 0

      HEC: 248 0
      OCD: 45 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 27032636 1317510
      Data Cells: 38281 2292
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 59 1
      SES: 13 0
      UAS: 80 16
      Total time = 36 min 49 sec
      SF = 128670
      CRC = 736
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 59
      Latest 1 day time = 36 min 49 sec
      SF = 128670
      CRC = 736
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 59
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 49 sec
      SF = 25263
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 54221
      CRC = 477
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49186
      CRC = 259
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 36

    4. #33
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      You still have quite a few errors occuring in a short period of time, still worth checking the rest of the wiring, in all the telephone sockets there should only be wires connected pins 2 and 5 on the back of the sockets. There is a total of 6 connections pins 1 to 6, the "Ring wire" is the usual culprit an orange and white wire connected to pin 3, its not required and can be disconnected in all sockets.

    5. #34
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      yeah i know but i just fixed the line and took a deatiled stats result so those errors were from ebfore i fixed the problem!

      Also look at my MAX downstream...

      Max(Kbps): 17580 864

      does that mean that sky have capped me too low? i can get 17mb but sky have cappe dme just under 16mb? is this bad?

    6. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      No Sky only supply up to 16Mb, even though ADSL2+ is capable of 24Mb!

      Your best solution would be to have an NTE5 socket fitted, then fit an ADSLNation faceplate, this isolates all of the rest of your internal wiring, so you get no problems from it. Unfortunately, they only come in standard beige, you can't get a 'gold plated' one, which may upset the missus

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #36
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      lol yeah it will. i think everythings fine now it was the sky wire that was the problem! do you reckon i should call sky and ask to be capped at higher than 15353kbs? hasnt there been reports of people capped at 16000kbs?

    8. #37
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      This is a regular thing that the sky engineer does they do it all the time and cause all sorts of problems because the first thing in the mastersocket should always be the microfilter but the sky engineers come out and they put the sky tv in before the microfilter and i wish they would stop doing it as it would make my job easier and make the customers Experience of sky bb a lot better instead of having to call up all the time.

    9. #38
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      Quote Originally Posted by touran22 View Post
      lol yeah it will. i think everythings fine now it was the sky wire that was the problem! do you reckon i should call sky and ask to be capped at higher than 15353kbs? hasnt there been reports of people capped at 16000kbs?

      No I dont think you should call Sky, if they start fiddling you could end up with less!, At 15353 I would think myself lucky and just enjoy it!

    10. #39
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      Koala i know what u mean but im just saying my line has the potential of getting the FULL 16mb without loosing a single mb! i just want to get the most out of it you know what i mean?. if i call sky will they cap me higher?

    11. #40
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      i think the setting you have is the standard, some people do have higher but from what i have read this is normally by mistake.

      you have a fantastic connection (now you have sorted your wiring), maybe you should just enhoy what you have (the extra will make no real difference anyway)

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION