Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 52

    line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

    This is a discussion on line stats have gotton worse with the new modem! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; dude i called them and i spoke to CST and they said im syncing at the full 16mb but for ...

    1. #21
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      dude i called them and i spoke to CST and they said im syncing at the full 16mb but for some reaosn im getting 12mb? she said im defintlay syncing at 16mb but im only recieving 12mb? how does that work out if on my detailked stats it shows im syncing at 12mb? wtf is this? something dodgys going on!! look:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 12830 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.5 13.0
      Attn(dB): 19.0 11.2
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 12884 864
      Rate (Kbps): 12830 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 241(0) 24
      R: 14 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 101 68
      B: 240 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 14 16
      S: 0.5985 7.7037
      L: 3408 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5430338 5430336
      SFErr: 36435 1
      RS: 581046252 46157856
      RSCorr: 31328915 587202584
      RSUnCorr: 838850 0

      HEC: 33717 0
      OCD: 4 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2630128101 156703712
      Data Cells: 3141574 13689331
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 3491 1
      SES: 739 0
      UAS: 14 52
      Total time = 1 days 9 min 34 sec
      SF = 5430338
      CRC = 36435
      LOS = 335
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3491
      Latest 1 day time = 9 min 34 sec
      SF = 35840
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 34 sec
      SF = 35840
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56195
      CRC = 126
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 87
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5394498
      CRC = 36424
      LOS = 334
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3479
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56195
      CRC = 268
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 105
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56196
      CRC = 386
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 91
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56257
      CRC = 6408
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 392

      so shes telling me im still currently syncing at 16mb when it blaitently shows that im syncing at 12 wtf! what shall i do? i called her at 11pm maybe she was tired and not looking at her computer properlly?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      so shes telling me im still currently syncing at 16mb when it blaitently shows that im syncing at 12 wtf! what shall i do? i called her at 11pm maybe she was tired and not looking at her computer properlly?

      your router will only sync at the highest rate it can, this is affected by distance (attenuation) and noise
      with your attenuation you should get the maximum connection
      you are not, your max rate is just above your connection rate which indicates you have not been capped
      you have lots of errors of the line which would lead me to think you have a line problem.
      sort that out and you may get the full monty

    4. #23
      jonny1310's Avatar
      jonny1310 is offline Banned for stealing our content
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      No you should phone straight back because the system that they use shows the exact same as the router shows every time so that was a lie.

    5. #24
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      maybe it's not a lie...you never know...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      As Richone says, you have a lot of errors, this section is particularly bad
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 56257
      CRC = 6408
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 392
      Until you sort this out it is a waste of time calling Sky. Plug in to the TEST socket and take the detailed stats from there. Something has changed, either in the internal wiring or the line to the exchange. If your sync rate or noise margin rise significantly, then you have internal problems.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      ok then ill try my TESt socket today! how long, after i use my test socket should the router pick up an increase in my sync speed if any?

    8. #27
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      will be instant for the sync speed, run for a few hours and post the stats back here

    9. #28
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      ok will defintly do that, also i have one of those metal flashy face plate those expensive one...will teh TEST socket still be there?

    10. #29
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      33,891
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 1,627 Times in 1,589 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      It may be, but probably not

      If you don't have a test socket the only thing you can do is disconnect the ring wire from terminal 3 in the Master socket and unplug everything else that is plugged in to the phone circuit, including digiboxes. A phone plugged in to the filter used by the router will not matter, just so you are not cut off from the rest of the world.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider 2/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #30
      touran22's Avatar
      touran22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line stats have gotton worse with the new modem!

      ok i don't really know what a ring wire and terminal 3 is...can u like please give me some picture instructions or something? also when i dissconnect everything else and coonect my router up can i still use the otehr plugs in my house while im doing this?

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION