Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Netgear Firmware

    This is a discussion on Netgear Firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Has anyone tried applying the upgrade of the firmware for the netgear router supplied by sky? Does it work. I ...

    1. #1
      Pervis001's Avatar
      Pervis001 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear Firmware

      Has anyone tried applying the upgrade of the firmware for the netgear router supplied by sky? Does it work. I was previously using the same router on a different ISP, and it was temporarily dropping connection, when I researched it netgear had created an update to fix this dropping in connection and ever since the service has been great.

      Basically I was wondering if I applied the same upgrade to the sky version of the router would it work or completely screw up the router?

      Can anyone help?
      Cheers Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Firmware

      I'd like to know this too as i'm having problems with my router with wireless and it's been suggested a firmware update will fix it?


      Thanks.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Netgear Firmware

      Firmware update id for the white netgear router and will only work if Sky firmware is on it.
      it is getting close to being released (by all accounts), but not out yet

    5. #4
      matrixsc's Avatar
      matrixsc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGLNFI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Firmware

      I'm really toying with buying my own router instead of using this one that skys gave me(834GT) fed up with the wireless problems i'm having and from what i've read on other sites a lot of people are having issues with this router too.

    6. #5
      Netgeezer's Avatar
      Netgeezer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      355
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Firmware

      The next firmware will resolve pretty much all of the reported problems. Yes, there will be those for which it won't solve. But then these would probably not be fixed by even a replacement router. There is simply so much to go wrong with ADSL that router faults are often nothing of the sort.
      It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer.
      [Albert Einstein]




      ADSL Nation XF-1e filter - the dogs nuts

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear Firmware

      Has anyone tried applying the upgrade of the firmware for the netgear router supplied by sky
      If you are referring to the V2 router, do a search on the forum for 'dg934 firmware' and you will find plenty of references

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION