Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Do these stats look OK ?

    This is a discussion on Do these stats look OK ? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by ashleyrunt It was around 8db to start before fiddling around. So for it to be 13.9 now ...

    1. #11
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Quote Originally Posted by ashleyrunt View Post
      It was around 8db to start before fiddling around.
      So for it to be 13.9 now youve raised it via mognuts ?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Quote Originally Posted by ashleyrunt View Post
      Never asked to be capped, but alway thought i might be because of 416kb upload.
      I`m starting to think router could be the problem.
      If you're on Max then yes, your upstream has definitely been capped - it's not so clear with your downstream. A comparison with your test socket (hidden inside your master if you have a NTE5) would confirm this or otherwise.

      With this messing around with Mognuts, what exactly is it that you are trying to achieve? Increasing your noise margin (at the expense of speed) is a good way to improve your stability, assuming you can't solve the line noise problem. Decreasing it is never a good idea. You may get a faster sync but your line errors will rise and your actual throughput will probably drop.

      On a perfect line your attenuation would support ~4meg. Currently, your line clearly isn't. Rather than play with Mognuts, you'd be better off improving your connection quality i.e. fix whatever has changed since you used to get 4meg.

      And no, I doubt very much that your router is at fault. No more so than it ever was that is.

    4. #13
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      So for it to be 13.9 now youve raised it via mognuts ?
      No I`ve lowered it with doughnut but as you can see it`s raised !
      Buggered if I know whats going on.
      Will have to do a rewire me thinks
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

    5. #14
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      "On a perfect line your attenuation would support ~4meg. Currently, your line clearly isn't. Rather than play with Mognuts, you'd be better off improving your connection quality i.e. fix whatever has changed since you used to get 4meg."
      That`s the point nowts been changed (scratches head)
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

    6. #15
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      are you in the BT test socket ? if not you need to do a test, i'm not sure your capped as you only synced a little higher than your speed

    7. #16
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Quote Originally Posted by ashleyrunt View Post
      No I`ve lowered it with doughnut but as you can see it`s raised !
      Buggered if I know whats going on.
      Will have to do a rewire me thinks
      Maybe the best course would be to put everything back to standard router wise then post a fresh set of stats and take things from there ?


    8. #17
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      Maybe the best course would be to put everything back to standard router wise then post a fresh set of stats and take things from there ?
      I tried that a few days ago, had trouble getting 1mb out of it
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

    9. #18
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Ok heres latest.
      I plugged into test socket got around the 1.3mb mark
      played with doughnut and got upto 1.6mb.
      Set noise margins/targets to standard and got around 1.8 mb.
      Put face plate back on and plugged in all the extentions and now getting 3.16mb !
      Latest stats:

      with target margin 3db !
      target margin to 80 units !

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 416 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3136 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 57.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 17.3 3.9
      Max(Kbps): 3456 992
      Rate (Kbps): 3136 416
      G.dmt framing
      K: 99(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 16
      D: 16 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 59 14
      M: 4 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 4.2666 17.0666
      L: 480 120
      D: 8 2
      Counters
      SF: 40402 40400
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1373704 171700
      RSCorr: 7726 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5080354 0
      Data Cells: 3576169 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2 0
      SES: 2 0
      UAS: 192 0
      Total time = 25 min 30 sec
      SF = 73919
      CRC = 169
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 1 day time = 25 min 30 sec
      SF = 73919
      CRC = 169
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 30 sec
      SF = 37051
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 36868
      CRC = 169
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

    10. #19
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Quote Originally Posted by ashleyrunt View Post
      That`s the point nowts been changed (scratches head)
      But something clearly has.

      I still don't think you understand the relationship between noise margin and sync. Setting the noise margin to below the 6.9db default will of course raise the sync so what do you think that is proving?

      That you don't believe (or understand) that your line quality has changed is the problem. It has - trust me. Now you need to go and fix this and leave Mognuts alone. If you're getting variable speeds with your test socket speed lower than plugged into an extension suggests you have a faulty filter, faulty router cable, maybe a faulty router or even just an intermittent BT line fault OR, you were plugged into the test socket with a plug in extension (which defeats the purpose). You need to do more careful testing - and maybe do a little reading of various posts on the forum.

    11. #20
      ashleyrunt's Avatar
      ashleyrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northampton/WFAVEL
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      130
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Do these stats look OK ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      But something clearly has.

      I still don't think you understand the relationship between noise margin and sync. Setting the noise margin to below the 6.9db default will of course raise the sync so what do you think that is proving?

      That you don't believe (or understand) that your line quality has changed is the problem. It has - trust me. Now you need to go and fix this and leave Mognuts alone. If you're getting variable speeds with your test socket speed lower than plugged into an extension suggests you have a faulty filter, faulty router cable, maybe a faulty router or even just an intermittent BT line fault OR, you were plugged into the test socket with a plug in extension (which defeats the purpose). You need to do more careful testing - and maybe do a little reading of various posts on the forum.
      Yes I do understand what you say (though not sure you do).
      I do suspect that there maybe a fault with my wiring but the fact is I have not changed anything.
      So rather than insults to my intelligence (I could phone Sky if I wanted that). I was rather hoping some helpful person could suggest the likes of poor terminal connects, dodgy faceplate, duff filters before I have to resort to calling some numpty at sky who`ll only read of a list on his monitor screen.
      Now you made some good suggestions with :
      "If you're getting variable speeds with your test socket speed lower than plugged into an extension suggests you have a faulty filter, faulty router cable, maybe a faulty router or even just an intermittent BT line fault", but the rest of your post was totally off.
      If it ain`t broke .... Kick the hell outta it till it is

      Get a free Giffgaff Sim

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION