Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G

    This is a discussion on Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; HI I have a Netgear V2 DG934G but the signal seems to be very poor on this. On my laptop ...

    1. #1
      clactonradio's Avatar
      clactonradio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Clacton
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs down Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G

      HI

      I have a Netgear V2 DG934G but the signal seems to be very poor on this.
      On my laptop and PC only in the other room up stairs.

      First the wifi comes on at 54.0Mbps then it goes to 48.0Mbps and then to just 2.0Mbps.

      Have tried moving the router down stairs and changing channels but its still no good.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G

      Do you have the router standing upright on it's feet? It appears the new routers with built in aerials work better this way. Try down loading NetstumblerThis can help you find the best location for your router and PCs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      *skys*the*limit*'s Avatar
      *skys*the*limit* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLEF
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Asus RT AC68U
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      111
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G

      hmm thats interesting as my ps3 (which is known for not the best wi-fi adaptor) picks up a 90-95% signal, and it isnt in the same room... as advised above i have it standing upright

    5. #4
      clactonradio's Avatar
      clactonradio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Clacton
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G

      Ive made the signal better on the PC and it seems to be staying at 54Mbps but its still not to good on the laptop.

      I use the PC much more so its OK now.

      I turned the router upside down.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G

      If you have not already done so, download and run TCPOptimiser This will optimise the connections on your PCs, so that you get the best speed possible.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      clactonradio's Avatar
      clactonradio is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clacton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Freeview
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Clacton
      Posts
      70
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Poor signal on Netgear V2 DG934G

      Yes I put than on both and it made the speed much better.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION