Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    SKY intermittent broad band connection

    This is a discussion on SKY intermittent broad band connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I switch from Tiscali broadband to Sky yesterday and I was soon in trouble with not being able to connect ...

    1. #1
      alankearn's Avatar
      alankearn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: aston
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY intermittent broad band connection

      I switch from Tiscali broadband to Sky yesterday and I was soon in trouble with not being able to connect the Sky router to the broadband signal, previously I had no trouble with Tiscali router connection even though it was on a four metre long phone line extension from the master socket and although I know its not good practice to do this I thought the new Sky router would be OK with the same set up.The problem is it can take up an hour or more to get a broadband connection, when I do get connected it can be left on and its no problem till I switch the router off and then I have the big wait again. When I switch the router on all the proper lights come on then when I try to get on the Net all I get is "This page can not be found" then after the hour or so wait the lights on the router start to flicker like mad, at that time I know if I go back to my computerI will have my connection back. The Sky helpdesk told me to move the router next to the telephone master socket which I did, I also tried the test socket inside the master socket but it was no better. After all this I phoned Sky again and they said well it can take up to 10 days for the broadband signal to settle down and if its not OK in 10 days they would get an engineer to have a look.Last night the router was connected OK so I switch the computer off but left the router on and it was still connected OK this morning when I booted up the computer. The easy way out would be to leave the router on permanently but I would rather have it sorted properly.
      Any ideas what could be the problem because surely I should'nt have problems getting the 2MB free package option.

      Thanks

      PS. My set up is two computers hardwired (ethernet) to the router, I am only 700 yards from my Telephone exchange and when I am connected I am getting a large part (1761kbps) of the 2mb free broadband package I am on.
      Last edited by alankearn; 09-03-08 at 09:54 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      As far as i am aware their is no 10 day training period for Base Mid or max. The router is designed to be left on permanetly and i suggest that you do this. You may wish to post some stats so we can have a look closer at what may be happening

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics

    4. #3
      Devil_Spawn's Avatar
      Devil_Spawn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      244
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      routers are designed to be left on permanently

    5. #4
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      Definately no 10 day rule for anything other than connect, whatever agent told you that was tryign to get you off the call. There is a 3 day grace period for base, mid and max. Once through that period CST can deal with the issue.

    6. #5
      alankearn's Avatar
      alankearn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: aston
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Postman Pat View Post
      As far as i am aware their is no 10 day training period for Base Mid or max. The router is designed to be left on permanetly and i suggest that you do this. You may wish to post some stats so we can have a look closer at what may be happening

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics

      Could you tell me what stats you need and how do I get them

      Thanks

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      If you have the netgear V2 router try here

      could you also change your profile to the correct router, at the moment it says V1 netgear which is a white one, if you have just got your router i would think you have the V2 netgear or the sagem F@st. it helps people to help you if you have the correct info up

    8. #7
      alankearn's Avatar
      alankearn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: aston
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      Quote Originally Posted by Postman Pat View Post
      As far as i am aware their is no 10 day training period for Base Mid or max. The router is designed to be left on permanetly and i suggest that you do this. You may wish to post some stats so we can have a look closer at what may be happening

      Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky! How to get your router statistics

      When I wrote intermittent connection it was the wrong discription I should have said when I turn the Netgear V2 router off then turn it on the next day it takes a long time (sometimes over a hour) to connect the computer to the internet.

      Hope these stats links come up OK

      http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y25...arn/stats2.gif




      thanks
      Last edited by richone54; 09-03-08 at 01:45 PM. Reason: deleted second pic as not needed

    9. #8
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      i removed your second pic (do not need to show all info and could leave you open to alsorts)

      as to you problem, you could fix it by not switching the router off, the routers are made to be left on anyway (there is anoher thread today talking about this, very low power usage and will not realy cost anything over the year)

      your stats look fine and i can see no reason why it takes so long to get connection
      Last edited by richone54; 09-03-08 at 03:04 PM. Reason: spelling

    10. #9
      alankearn's Avatar
      alankearn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: aston
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY intermittent broad band connection

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      i removed your second pic (do not need to show all info and could leave you open to alsorts)

      as to you problem, you could fix it by not switching the router off, the routers are made to be left on anyway (there is anoher thread today talking about this, very low power usage and will not realy cost anything over the year)

      your stats look fine and i can see no reason why it takes so long to get connection

      Thanks for taking precautions for me in removing the photo link

      Alan

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION