Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 33

    Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

    This is a discussion on Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I hope someone from Sky reads this. Dear sky, This new FW is really annoying me. You are sending out ...

    1. #1
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      I hope someone from Sky reads this.

      Dear sky,

      This new FW is really annoying me. You are sending out perfectly stable routers now to all your new customers. While you leave all of your old customers (most) to having to go through the pain (YES IT IS A PAIN) of having to reboot there router cause it has been built with poorly designed firmware? You might as well change your slogan from "believe in better" to something else! Cause its no getting any bloody better. One of our great members james has had to built a new customized FW FOR US! It makes your FW look like rubbish. We shouldn't have to download customized FW. Actually no body should have to make them in the first place! We should be able to have faith in the ISP - to fix the problems at the moment i have lost all faith and trust in you sky.

      Monday
      Last edited by Monday; 03-03-08 at 06:16 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      wow, you must have a really bad connection, just as a note tho, if you have updated with a custom FW, why are you so upset about the sky update ?

    4. #3
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      I shouldn't have to download customized FW just to get it going should i? My connection works like good with this customized FW now but really, i shouldn't have to go through all this trouble just to get it going..right?

    5. #4
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      on other BB packages where you use your own router, you would have to update the FW yourself ?
      also if sky sent out an updated FW without testing and fixing all the problems, it would be just as bad

      (do not get me wrong, i agree sky should update as soon as they can)

    6. #5
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by richone54 View Post
      on other BB packages where you use your own router, you would have to update the FW yourself ?
      also if sky sent out an updated FW without testing and fixing all the problems, it would be just as bad

      (do not get me wrong, i agree sky should update as soon as they can)
      I would be able to "Legally" use my own. It wouldn't in breach of skys "precious" Terms and conditons. I mean TBH my line does have a role to play. But the router "should" be able to cope with and minor line changes ect. Come evening the SNR will drop but the router should be able to hold on! Sky have made "custom" FW for both the Sagem and the new Netgear routers.

    7. #6
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      “While you (Sky) leave all of your old customers (most)
      to having to go through the pain” – Monday


      How do you know this?
      What are the numbers and percentages of all or most old customers
      you refer to?

      I have been using the White V1 router for 17 months.
      I have had very few problems.
      But my experience does not mean that it applies either to most or
      a minority of customers.

      I object to Sky forcing a firmware upgrade on those who have not
      had major problems, without giving me the option to accept or decline
      an upgrade.
      Sky should only force an upgrade if they are going to take responsibility
      when things go wrong.
      As they surely will.

      I am not psychic. I used to be with AOL.

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      One of the things you'll get with the new firmware is the new user interface. I'd imagine Sky would want to get everyone, regardless of which router they have, to have an identical user interface. If the upgrade were "elective", then that wouldn't be the case, so I can see why they're not going to leave the choice to the customer.

      In fact, I could well believe that one of the reasons why it's taken so long to get the new firmware out is that they've had trouble ensuring that no-one ends up with worse performance than they have before the upgrade.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      One of the things you'll get with the new firmware is the new user interface.
      Not if I have been told the correct information, the new GUI is not until the next V1 FW update.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      Well that is just astonishing. What the heck have they been doing all this time?

    11. #10
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Well that is just astonishing. What the heck have they been doing all this time?
      exactly

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION