Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 33

    Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

    This is a discussion on Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Whilst it's not ideal you could use the original netgear firmware without flashing your router http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...-easy-way.html then when sky update ...

    1. #11
      hellfire18's Avatar
      hellfire18 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: GARFORTH
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      154
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      Whilst it's not ideal you could use the original netgear firmware without flashing your router ATTENTION: Hack for Netgear D834GT V1 - Run Netgear Firmware the Easy Way then when sky update their firmware (if ever) you could revert back to Sky's firmware. This is a safe method and works flawlessly on my D834GT V1. The main benefit to this is that a) Netgear actually offer support (unlike Sky clearly!) and the last update 1 week ago - 27/02/08 b) you do not need to flash the Router using Netgear's recovery utility (if you even can), because it fools the Sky router into thinking you are using legitimate Sky Firmware.

      Chris.
      Last edited by hellfire18; 05-03-08 at 11:32 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      tictac's Avatar
      tictac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wellingborough
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      Has anybody else used this custom firmware?

    4. #13
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #14
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      I would advise against using that firmware if you are a Sky Broadband customer. Because it's based on the standard Netgear firmware, rather than the Sky customised version, it doesn't perform the periodic check for new firmware that the Sky router would normally do. One potential method by which Sky might check to see that you're using their router, would be to monitor that periodic check.

      If Sky detect that you're not using the router they supplied to you, or that you've reflashed your router, they may potentially kick you off their network. So using a non-Sky router, or using non-Sky firmware on the Sky router, is not something to be undertaken lightly.

    6. #15
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      i still don't believe that sky would start kicking people off for using there own router or there own firmware. i think it would just cause a lot of uproar and negative reviews of the service if even just a handful of people complained about it.

    7. #16
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      i have seen it - someone was silly enough to openly say they'd 'flashed the FW and it now works better' so account was terminated...only one ive heard of though
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      i have seen it - someone was silly enough to openly say they'd 'flashed the FW and it now works better' so account was terminated...only one ive heard of though
      A very easy way to get out of the Sky contract then, if you want out, just phone them up and tell them you have flashed your router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      djkemp1's Avatar
      djkemp1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      oh dear, i don't feel they would go to the trouble of actively seeing if your using your own router or not would they?

    10. #19
      mhusen's Avatar
      mhusen is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: chingford, london
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD & Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      "Well that is just astonishing. What the heck have they been doing all this time?"

      I second that - Yeh, What the heck have they been doing all this time ? - just making money from unhappy customers ?

    11. #20
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Were Is This New Firmware For The V1 Routers!!!!

      Quote Originally Posted by mhusen View Post
      just making money from unhappy customers ?
      They wish

      Sky makes a huge multi-million loss on their Broadband service.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION