Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Problem Streaming Audio

    This is a discussion on Problem Streaming Audio within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; My setup:- XP Pro PC with Gigabit LAN connected to Zyxel GS105A Gigabit switch via Cat5e Helios X3000 Network Media ...

    1. #1
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem Streaming Audio

      My setup:-
      XP Pro PC with Gigabit LAN connected to Zyxel GS105A Gigabit switch via Cat5e
      Helios X3000 Network Media Player connected to Zyxel via D-Link 200Mbps powerline adapter
      Netgear DG834GT Wireless router (Sky Broadband firmware and set up as DHCP server) connected to Zyxel via Comtrend 200Mbps powerline adapter.
      XP Media Centre PC connected to Zyxel via Comtrend adapter
      XP Media Center PC with Gigabit LAN connected to zyxel via CAT5e

      I know it's a bit of a hotch-potch but it seems to work.

      The problem I have is that sometimes when streaming audio files to the Helios (either mp3 or flac), the first 10-15 seconds of each audio track is very badly distorted; unrecognisable as music. After that the track plays to the end without problem. This happens with every track until I reboot the Netgear router. After that the problem goes away for a few days then returns.
      Now I'm no networking expert, but my intention was to leave the Netgear out of the LAN except to provide the network with internet access, so how can rebooting it affect streaming of audio from a PC to the Helios?
      I've also noticed just in the past couple of days that web browsing becomes impossible from time to time. I don't mean that I lose my connection at all, as email and file downloads continue to work. It's just that IE cannot open any web pages. If I reboot the Netgear everything works again. Happens about once a day.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      Have you turned UpnP off on the router?
      If you aren't using the wireless I'd also turn that off.

      The powerline adapters are advertised as 200Mb/s but thats actually 100Mb/s full duplex. The 100Mb/s is also ideal conditions.
      Last edited by Proppinupthebar; 26-02-08 at 07:44 PM.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    4. #3
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      uPnP is already off and my laptop connects wirelessly.
      I know that I'm not going to get even 100MBps from the powerline adapters, but the usual 80-85 is ample for even HD Video let alone audio. Also since the Sky router is only providing internet access and not network transport, it shouldn't even be involved in the first problem but rebooting it temporarily solves it
      As far as the lost web browsing ability is concerned; that's only recently started so, since the Comtrend adapters are new, perhaps they are the cuprit - although I don't see how. As I said, the connection isn't lost; just browsing.

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix126 View Post
      uPnP is already off and my laptop connects wirelessly.
      I know that I'm not going to get even 100MBps from the powerline adapters, but the usual 80-85 is ample for even HD Video let alone audio. Also since the Sky router is only providing internet access and not network transport, it shouldn't even be involved in the first problem but rebooting it temporarily solves it
      As far as the lost web browsing ability is concerned; that's only recently started so, since the Comtrend adapters are new, perhaps they are the cuprit - although I don't see how. As I said, the connection isn't lost; just browsing.
      Can you give the PC and player fixed IP addresses?

      Only other thing I can think of is to try some network sniffing and see what extra traffic if any there is at the player end.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    6. #5
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      PC and Helios already have fixed IPs (issued by Netgear router).
      Unfortunately the only network sniffing software I have is Network Probe and my version only works on the machine it's installed on.
      I'll try shutting down all other devices and monitor the network traffic from the media server PC and see if anything shows up.
      Thanks for your help.

    7. #6
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      Quote Originally Posted by Phoenix126 View Post
      PC and Helios already have fixed IPs (issued by Netgear router).
      Unfortunately the only network sniffing software I have is Network Probe and my version only works on the machine it's installed on.
      I'll try shutting down all other devices and monitor the network traffic from the media server PC and see if anything shows up.
      Thanks for your help.
      Sorry mate you've misunderstood. If the router is handing out IP's then they are not fixed. If you can, give the PC an IP address manually, and the player.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    8. #7
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      The router is issuing IPs but I have reserved IPs for both the the PC media server and the Network Media Player. I can certainly set the PC's IP manually but I'm not sure if that's possible on the Helios - I'll check it out later when the kids have gone to bed and aren't hogging the TV.
      Would that be different from having reserved IPs for each machine?

    9. #8
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      I'd definitely try manually setting the IP addresses if possible. Maybe even a different network to that used by the router.
      If powering off the router seems to fix it then the issue definitely looks to be with it.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    10. #9
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      OK, I've manually set the IPs on all PCs and on the Helios and turned off the Sky router's DHCP server.
      So far, so good. I haven't noticed any of the problems I'd been having so, fingers crossed, that's it.
      Thanks a lot for your help mate. Much appreciated.

    11. #10
      Phoenix126's Avatar
      Phoenix126 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Whitley Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Whitley Bay
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Problem Streaming Audio

      Spoke too soon
      Had a complete loss of internet service for the second half of yesterday (apparrently a problem with Sky's servers), and now that I'm back online today, I still have intermittent loss of browsing capability.
      My gut feeling is that the router is becoming overloaded as it seems to be worse when I'm downloading files via P2P (uTorrent). However the downloads continue, and email still works - just browsing stops. I can't even access the router's web interface and have to reboot manually.
      I haven't yet been able to reproduce the problem with audio streaming so fingers are still crossed on that one.
      I've tried a different browser as well but, as I suspected, that didn't help.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION