Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Increasing my speed

    This is a discussion on Increasing my speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have been active since Friday and my download speed is averaging at about 5.5Mbps on the Mid Package. This ...

    1. #1
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Increasing my speed

      I have been active since Friday and my download speed is averaging at about 5.5Mbps on the Mid Package. This speed is consistent and to be honest I'm happy with it, but I feel that I could squeeze a bit more out of it. I currently have from the BT socket (not master) in the room where the PC is a standard telephone extension cable running to the PC with the filter and hence the Sky Broadband box connected at the end of this extension.

      Diagram


      I was thinking of exchanging the telephone extension cable (blue in diagram) for an RJ11 cable suck as this one. Would this make any difference to my speed or my noise margin of 15.1db?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You would probably get more benefit by fitting a faceplate. adsl nation are good

    4. #3
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hmmm now that is something else to be considered. Didn't realise this was in the wrong place btw.

    5. #4
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      another thing you can do is put the router next to the phone socket and use a longer network cable.

    6. #5
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      If I chose face plates would they have to be put on every socket?

      Also would it make any difference whether it was a network cable or a grey phone cable?

    7. #6
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by mikey4020 View Post
      If I chose face plates would they have to be put on every socket?
      If it's a filter faceplate as peddled by ADSL Nation (and a fine filter it is too), then it only goes on the master. All your other extensions will consequently have the ADSL signal removed (so don't plug your router into an extension expecting it to work!).

      Quote Originally Posted by mikey4020 View Post
      Also would it make any difference whether it was a network cable or a grey phone cable?
      Absolutely! Network cable (or more specifically Categories 5e and 6) are better and avoiding interference which ADSL is prone to. Of course, if you you the faceplate as discussed above, your extensions will only be transmitting voice which will happily pass down damp string, so Cat 5e/6 would no longer be relevant.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    8. #7
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I'm not sure about fitting a faceplate but I feel it is necessary to do away with the telephone extension. I'm going to move the router next to the phone socket and run an Ethernet cable from there to reduce noise etc and see if that makes a difference to my speed. I'm aware this could be done with wireless but as it is a desktop I don't see the point when it is in the same room.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Mikey

      thats what i have done - signal doubled to 6.4mb




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      @mikey4020
      If you don't need the telephone extensions, why not just disconnect them from the back for the faceplate and use an ordinary adsl filter in the master socket? That way, you save having to buy a filtering faceplate. Or perhaps (probably) I'm misunderstanding your wiring layout and requirements!
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    11. #10
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I need some kind of extension method because the where the router is it can't plug directly into the phone socket. I'm going to move the router next to the phone socket and run a longer Ethernet cable from there to the computer to reduce noise etc and hopefully increase my speed slightly.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION