Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

How does the Sky router find the PC's ?

This is a discussion on How does the Sky router find the PC's ? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I'm new to Sky - well I will be on Saturday, but I'm worrying about what's in store for ...

Black Dog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01926
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Unhappy How does the Sky router find the PC's ?

Hi,

I'm new to Sky - well I will be on Saturday, but I'm worrying about what's in store for me...

At the moment I'm with cable:
      My modem plugs into my Belkin wireless router, which in turn connects via ethernet to 1 PC and also connects wirelessly to a 2nd PC into which a Belkin wireless receptor widget (whatever it's called) is plugged via a USB port.

My question is: when the Sky router arrives, it will no doubt be sited remote from either PC - or will I be given the option to have the router in one room and the Sky tele box in another?.
      If the router is remote from the PC's, how will it connect to them? Will it come with 2 wireless receptor widgets (I expect not) ? If not how does it work ? Will I have to buy 2 such devices ? If so what and where from and how much ? Or will the Belkin widget work for at least one of the PC's ?

Pardon my ignorance, but the Sky salesperson didn't seem to know about anything other than laptops with blue-teeth that just magically connect.

Hope that makes sense to someone out there !

Thanks.

2. Advertisement
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Thanks
      Blog Entries

Re: How does the Sky router find the PC's ?