Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

    This is a discussion on Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess) within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Dear all, I am new to this website and fairly new to computer networks. I currently have my laptop connected ...

    1. #1
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      Dear all,

      I am new to this website and fairly new to computer networks. I currently have my laptop connected (wireless) to my Netgear router and am able to view my partners laptop etc on the network as well. I have also added a Buffalo Linkstation Live 250GB which I am using as a server - all this works fine. The Linkststaion has a feature (webaccess) which try as I might will not work. I have viewed various threads on this site and I suspect that a may have to open (or forward) a port. Firstly is my assumption correct and secondly is it appropriate to follow the guidance given in the tools section? Any other guidance would be greatly appriciated.
      Thanks, Dave.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      You would only need to do port forwarding if you wanted to access the Linkstation from outside your home network, e.g., from work, an Internet cafe or somewhere like that. Unfortunantely, I don't really know enough about the Linkstation to give you any further advice on why it's not working.

    4. #3
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      Thanks James67,
      Yes I do wish to access my netwrok from outside my LAN. If any one has any further advice it would be greatly recieved.
      Thanks, Dave.

    5. #4
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      OK, I have followed the instructions in the tools section and created exceptions in the netgear firewall. I can even see when I check the log (Netgear) that when I try to gain access it is being blocked (the service name) appears in the list - I have turned the windows firwall off and the Mcafee firewall off but I can't see why it still being blocked? I have even tried to test the port via the GRC.COM website to see if it is open but this also says it is closed. Any thoughts anyone?
      Dave.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      Have you set it up in the Services Section?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      Yes the services where set up. It appears that the issue was to do with the encryption (SSL). When I removed this it works?

    8. #7
      Phil53eclipse's Avatar
      Phil53eclipse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01454
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      All, can any of you guys help. I have a Netgear DG834GT Router and have just bought a Linkstation Live but cannot access it wirelessly. It is probably something stupid but any help would be appreciated. Sorry if its a bit vague.

      I am getting my Sonos on Friday so need to sort this

      Thanks in advance.

    9. #8
      jamesg1979's Avatar
      jamesg1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      Where did you remove this? I can't see this setting?

    10. #9
      davethebb's Avatar
      davethebb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01233
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Pluckley
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      James,

      I can't remember off the top of my head but I will take a look and let you know. Dave.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Netgear DG834GL and Buffalo Linkstation (webaccess)

      Where did you remove this? I can't see this setting?
      If you are referring to the SSL encryption, have a look at the Web Access pane on this page -

      Buffalo Web Access Quickstart

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION