Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky BB and Asus EE

    This is a discussion on Sky BB and Asus EE within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have an Asus EE mini laptop, running a form of Linux, which connects wirelessly without any problem to my ...

    1. #1
      helva's Avatar
      helva is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky BB and Asus EE

      I have an Asus EE mini laptop, running a form of Linux, which connects wirelessly without any problem to my network at home (not Sky ISP). At another location we have just installed Sky BB with the supplied Sagem router. We managed to set up the Asus at the other location so that it connected to the internet but could not wirelessly - two calls to the Sky helpline were met with the remark that "we do not support systems other than Winndows and OSX". I brought the Sky router home and tried to set it up here but with no success even with the ethernet cable connecting the router and Asus. Another forum suggested the need to use WPA instead of WEP, which I did but still no joy. Any ideas out there please before I lose what hair I have left.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB and Asus EE

      Being a fairly new system and running a form of Linux, I am not surprised that you got little help from Sky. To expect them to support every OS and machine would be a bit much for any ISP, never mind Sky.

      You may be lucky and someone reading the forum has had your problem, but if you don't get any help here, have a look at the eeeUserForum you might have some luck there.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      helva's Avatar
      helva is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB and Asus EE

      Thanks IsitMe. Will try. Strange that the lappy works wirelessly everywhere else except with a Sky router............

    5. #4
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB and Asus EE

      does it connect with no security?

    6. #5
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky BB and Asus EE

      I've also got one and had no problems with my Sky connection at home. In fact the only issue I've had with the Eee is with this stoopid BT Openzone hotspot I'm using now.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    7. #6
      helva's Avatar
      helva is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky BB and Asus EE

      Proppin

      Delighted that you have no problem. So it is either the router or me, not incompatibility between router and lappy.

      Blondejon

      Not quite certain what you mean. Successful wireless connection at home is with a router that has its own firewall.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky BB and Asus EE

      I don't think he means the firewall, what happens when you turn off the wireless security in the router, does it connect? Open the wireless settings in the router and under Security options, tick Disable, if you want to try it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION