Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Ping 2

    This is a discussion on Ping 2 within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I tried for a stealth test, as I had always gained a 100% pass, and failed the Ping Test, checked ...

    1. #1
      Unregistered (lawman)'s Avatar
      Unregistered (lawman) Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Ping 2

      I tried for a stealth test, as I had always gained a 100% pass,
      and failed the Ping Test,
      checked the sky router and found it was set to receive Ping
      so turned it off again and achieved 100% secure (well in theory)

      http://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?rh1dkyd2

      Scroll down page and click on shields up to check your PC.
      to check which port is open, or other little insecurity's.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      allowing pings is not in itself a risk, stopping them may cause you other problems

    4. #3
      Unregistered (lawman)'s Avatar
      Unregistered (lawman) Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Ping 2

      @ dingdong

      Sorry I could not respond to you in the other thread,
      Its true in what you say, about pings not in it's self being a threat,
      However they do tell others if your PC responds, that you are about
      and the determined person might try to hack in.

      even Netgear put the below warning in the 834GT..

      "Respond To Ping On Internet Port

      If you want the DG834GT to respond to a 'Ping' from the Internet, click this check box. This can be used as a diagnostic tool. This can be a security problem. You shouldn't check this box unless you have a specific reason to do so."

      Regards

      lawman

    5. #4
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm not sure but doesn't windows home office network require pings. Or is the ping you are referring to just from the outside world to your router, if so then turning it off is a good idea. But i would like to know if turning it off at the router stops you pinging other machines on your own network

    6. #5
      Unregistered (lawman)'s Avatar
      Unregistered (lawman) Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      @dingdong.

      yes sorry, its in receiving pings I was referring too, thats the box which was enabled for some reason,

    7. #6
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      well i just disabled mine, and it broke my office network connectivity so i guess i will live with it enabled.

      it also broke yahoo radio.

      i would advise anyone to leave this enabled, if you have your firewall on - nothing nasty can get in anyway
      Last edited by dingdong; 18-09-06 at 06:27 PM.

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I moved the all to this forum as the best place for such a discussion and its isn't got to get lost as quick
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      well i just disabled mine, and it broke my office network connectivity...
      I read elsewhere that you reckon your router's broken? It certainly sounds like it if stopping pings on the WAN interface causes your internal LAN to break. Internet radio also doesn't require ICMP, so it sounds as if you've got something awry going on.

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Lawman

      Congrats on finally being connected, you wanna reregister and we all start again?

      Ged




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION