Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Router logon required when calling my own web server

    This is a discussion on Router logon required when calling my own web server within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I have a webserver running on port 80 behind my Sky Sagem router which works fine if anyone externally ...

    1. #1
      mark311's Avatar
      mark311 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Router logon required when calling my own web server

      Hi,

      I have a webserver running on port 80 behind my Sky Sagem router which works fine if anyone externally calls it with www.mydomain.com, but if I call the same URL internally from either PC on my network I get the router logon dialog box, and when I enter my Sky logon details it takes me to the router page.

      How can I view my own URLs from within my Network ?

      (I've tried anonymisers and it works using them, but it's a bit of a hassle, I'd rather just be able to call my own URLs directly).

      Any help appreciated,
      Regards,
      Mark


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router logon required when calling my own web server

      You could try

      Code:
      http://127.0.0.1:80 or http://127.0.0.1:8080
      Not sure if it would work though




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      mark311's Avatar
      mark311 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router logon required when calling my own web server

      Thanks, but I have multiple domains running off that webserver so I need to include the domain so it knows which one to serve.

    5. #4
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Router logon required when calling my own web server

      Quote Originally Posted by mark311 View Post
      How can I view my own URLs from within my Network?
      Interesting one that. Although I am not sure, it may be a question of where the DNS is being resolved. If you have got your PC's set to obtain DNS automatically then the router DNS settings will resolve the IP address back to itself effectively. I think this is what may be happening.

      Try setting one of your PC's to manual DNS servers - OpenDNS are good ones to use - which should in theory route your DNS request from your PC out on to the web and back the same as anyone else's.

      Only a theory this but worth a try.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Router logon required when calling my own web server

      Quote Originally Posted by mark311 View Post
      Thanks, but I have multiple domains running off that webserver so I need to include the domain so it knows which one to serve.
      Or you alter your hosts file I think?

      So domain will resolve to the internal IP?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router logon required when calling my own web server

      I had exactly this problem when I was running an SMTP and POP server from my home line. I found two ways around it:

      a. Putting the internal IP of the webserver in a hosts file entry on each PC at home.
      b. The router I was using had a DNS server that I could use in preference to an external lookup, set it to the internal IP, job done.

      Since b isn't possible on any Sky router, you're restricted to a.

      *EDIT* Newsreader beat me to it.
      The problem you have see, is that the DNS entries point to your router and the router won't route virtual services for clients on the internal network back on to the internal network (see?).

    8. #7
      mark311's Avatar
      mark311 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router logon required when calling my own web server

      Thanks, I'm sure the host method will work, but I want to check that the DNS is being resolved correctly and it's behaving as expected for external users. I guess I can use the anonymiser to do this once, then I've put a mapping in so I can call it locally as http://192.168.0.2/mydomain.com/

      Thanks again for your suggestions.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION