Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Getting a new Router

    This is a discussion on Getting a new Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys, Im thinking about getting a non-sky router, i know this may sound silly and you ask me to ...

    1. #1
      benfleet5's Avatar
      benfleet5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freesat HD+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi guys,

      Im thinking about getting a non-sky router, i know this may sound silly and you ask me to search but i really dont know what im searching for a really am new at this! So what would i have to do when i get a better router?

      Do i have to unlock my sky router that i have at the moment?

      Hi guys,

      Im thinking about getting a non-sky router, i know this may sound silly and you ask me to search but i really dont know what im searching for a really am new at this! So what would i have to do when i get a better router?

      Do i have to unlock my sky router that i have at the moment?

      I have a netgear, so i just need my username and password that i would use to see my emails?

      And about the two posts, i thought i might have posted it in the wrong section
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 21-01-08 at 05:22 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Postman Pat's Avatar
      Postman Pat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leytonstone
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      East London
      Posts
      737
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Getting a new Router

      Hi welcome to the forum. Can i Begin with by asking why you want a new router?

    4. #3
      benfleet5's Avatar
      benfleet5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Freesat HD+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting a new Router

      I can get any signal in my living room, only get signal upstairs, so i need one with a bigger range

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Getting a new Router

      and why you have posted the same ? twice

      If you have a Sagem router, you can forget it at the moment. If you have a Netgear, you can obtain your User/password and put them into another router. But as PP says, why?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Getting a new Router

      I take it you have ruled out interference by making sure you haven't got anything near the router that might be impacting it, I also take it you have changed channels on the router to see that improves anything?
      I also take it you are willing to break the terms and conditions you agreed to when you took your Sky BB connection? When did you sign up and what type of router have you got?

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Getting a new Router

      No your email/ sky login user name and password are quite different to the details in the router.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Getting a new Router

      Have a look at this part of the forum. It contains all the info you need.

      Technical discussion - Sky User - The unofficial support forum for everything Sky!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Getting a new Router

      Merged Threads together.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Getting a new Router

      Just get another router but use that to extend the wireless range. Bridge it . Something similar being done here..Connecting Wrt54g to Netgear router to extend Wifi range

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Getting a new Router

      If you haven't got a router, it would be better to buy a proper wireless extender. It will be cheaper and will do the job better.

      Edit - Or you might want to consider a Homeplug system. It will probably be faster and more secure than wireless.
      Last edited by Isitme; 21-01-08 at 08:45 PM. Reason: added info

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION