Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 45

    OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

    This is a discussion on OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I think i'm not the only one curious to see were this FW is. You told us it was coming ...

    1. #1
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Question OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      I think i'm not the only one curious to see were this FW is.

      You told us it was coming out on the 15th of December either then or the new year. The new FW is a year late? Whats the 411 on this new FW.


      Most of you sky employees on the forums keep saying soon. How soon isit? Can you just give us a rough date of when it is coming out. Comon give us a hint just something.



      Monday


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      There is no firm date for the new FW coming out. Everything, we as a website have reported is what we know.

      We were under the impression that if it was not out by the 15th December, then it would certainly be sometime after Christmas. Now granted, January is after 15th December, but it cannot be that far off now.

      We do know that the new FW has sorted out loads of problems, and I would assume that Sky are actually testing the roll out of this at the moment, with their beta team of staff.

      The last thing Sky want to do is present more problems I suppose, therefore they want to make sure that it is right for when they do roll it out.

      The new FW does exist, its just a case of when Sky believe it is ready.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Thanks for the quick reply. I understand Sky don't want to get things wrong this time but i think Gods brother wanted to know when this FW is actually going to be ready. Thanks for explaing this.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      The new FW will help so many people who are having problems with the V1 routers. The sooner Sky do release it the better as it is in their own interests.

      Like I said above, the new FW is theoretically ready, I suppose as soon as they have successfully rolled it out to the trialists, and they are happy with that aspect, Sky would then roll it out to you and I as well as our fellow customers.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Just on the note should i be getting a line ATT of 56 when i live here and the exchange it here?

      (Green = exchange).


    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Sorry to be unhelpful I have absolutely no idea.

      Do you know roughly how far you are away from the Exchange?

      Is your attenuation that figure in the Test Socket?

      You may only physically be, say 2 miles away, but your line could actually take 4 miles or so to get to you. Attenuation is something you cannot really change as that is based on the line length iirc If I am wrong someone will correct me.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      But your line may do this !!
      Attached Images Attached Images

    9. #8
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Thanks for the help guys. I can see now my line might not go in a straight line. I need my master socket upgrading so i wont be able to try the test socket yet..

    10. #9
      tittybiscuits's Avatar
      tittybiscuits is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dunfermline
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      dunfermline
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      new FW is being tested this now, i got the upgraded version downloaded to my router last weds and not had any probs with it, mind u didnt have any on the older version either.

      no official date for release though yet that we have been told.

    11. #10
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Quote Originally Posted by tittybiscuits View Post
      new FW is being tested this now, i got the upgraded version downloaded to my router last weds and not had any probs with it, mind u didnt have any on the older version either.
      Titty,
      How did you know your router was being upgraded.
      Did Sky send you an email or advance notice.
      Are you a beta tester?

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION