Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 45

    OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

    This is a discussion on OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; They may own the router but they don't own my computer and have no right to muck it up. If ...

    1. #31
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      They may own the router
      but they don't own my computer
      and have no right to muck it up.

      If they are so confident nothing can go wrong
      Sky can guarantee it.

      But you are right.
      After 16 months of no problems with Sky
      I could move everything to Virgin.
      Last edited by murdock; 23-01-08 at 04:40 PM. Reason: typo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      If they do muck up peoples routers and take NO responsibility. I'm sure they will be reported to ofcom.

    4. #33
      steesh2302's Avatar
      steesh2302 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: VM 10Meg
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: VM V+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Just Ootside Toon
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Do Sky OWN the router though? In the early days, they gave them away free to subscribers. Unfortunately then, I couldn't take that up, as I had to see out a contract with another ISP. When I did sign up with Sky, I was charged 50 for the router. Seems I paid for it (same price as buying it from a retailer), so I own it?

    5. #34
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      I really believe that Sky will be doing this update over and over again on their beta testers' equipment.

      Any risk at all of breaking the routers and I am sure they would not roll out this way.

      Don't forget in reality Sky could host the file themselves and let people do it by choice if this was really an issue.

      I suppose we will soon find out
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 23-01-08 at 07:24 PM. Reason: spelling




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #35
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Quote Originally Posted by steesh2302 View Post
      Do Sky OWN the router though? In the early days, they gave them away free to subscribers. Unfortunately then, I couldn't take that up, as I had to see out a contract with another ISP. When I did sign up with Sky, I was charged 50 for the router. Seems I paid for it (same price as buying it from a retailer), so I own it?
      The router according to the T and C's belongs to the customer.

      You didn't pay for the router in your 50 that would have been the charge for connecting you to the network. (which is sometimes asked for unless on offer) Sky do not charge for the router and have no facilities to raise an invoice to sell you one if you asked.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #36
      steesh2302's Avatar
      steesh2302 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: VM 10Meg
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: VM V+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Just Ootside Toon
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      I think it should be a choice - those who have no issue with the original firmware would obviously want to decline. Myself, and thousands others, would like to try it

    8. #37
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      I suppose if they get the upnp problem fixed it that would be great. Saves having the hassle of port forwarding.

    9. #38
      snarkism's Avatar
      snarkism is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      First post - and it's probably controversial...

      According to my subscription contract (which started relatively recently at the end of September) section 3c states

      "Your Wireless Router (except the software in it) will become your property on installation if you choose Home Installation, or on delivery if you choose Self Install. The software in your Wireless Router is owned by or licensed to Sky or another member of the British Sky Broadcasting group. You must allow this software to be updated. Updates will happen automatically at no extra charge."

      (My emphasis) So there's really no debate.....

    10. #39
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      I suppose if they get the upnp problem fixed it that would be great. Saves having the hassle of port forwarding.
      We definitely know and can confirm this has been fixed.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    11. #40
      steesh2302's Avatar
      steesh2302 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: VM 10Meg
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: VM V+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Just Ootside Toon
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      A good point. Router was delivered to me, and I self installed.

     

     
    Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION