Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 45

    OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

    This is a discussion on OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers. within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Yes you will...

    1. #21
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Yes you will




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Monday's Avatar
      Monday is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWHAY
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      881
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      can you guys post some screen confirming that your running the new firmware?

    4. #23
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      The upgrade is forced.
      Let us suppose your router or other hardware crashes.
      Will Sky reimburse you for the phone calls
      and hardware and send you a new router?

      If there was an option for me to accept,delay or reject the new
      firmware, then if something goes wrong it's my responsibility.

      Do Sky know what percentage of their 1.5 million users
      have problems with the router Sky have supplied customers?
      Last edited by murdock; 22-01-08 at 06:43 PM. Reason: revised

    5. #24
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      I suppose this is why they are testing it now Murdoch, to make sure that no routers are harmed in the roll out. The biggest issue that I could see potentially, is that if people turn the router off whilst receiving the update.

      Therefore it would make more sense to roll out during the night, when most of us are asleep.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #25
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
      The upgrade is forced.
      Let us suppose your router or other hardware crashes.
      Will Sky reimburse you for the phone calls
      and hardware and send you a new router?
      Ultimately, that's why there's a router recovery utility on the CD. In the very unlikely event that your router fails to upgrade itself, then it will go into its recovery mode.

      If you can't get the recovery utility to work (and many people have had problems with it), then I'm sure Sky will be happy to send a new router.

      Now I wonder if Netgear will be releasing a source code kit for the new software...

    7. #26
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Now I wonder if Netgear will be releasing a source code kit for the new software...
      Yes but your IP would be blocked from downloading it, if Sky had their way




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #27
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
      The upgrade is forced.
      Let us suppose your router or other hardware crashes.
      Will Sky reimburse you for the phone calls
      and hardware and send you a new router?
      I doubt this very much, we used to beta test updates/upgrades for sky + software, one 'scrapped' the hard drive and when we called up were told no we haven't done any updates/upgrades yet weirdly the software version had changed that day. We were told, either pay for an engineer or fix it yourself....which we did as i had a spare drive lying about!
      http://www.speedtest.net/



      Users armed with a little knowledge are dangerous things!
      Step away from the keyboard slowly............your right to use the internet has been revoked!
      You have a 'PEBKAC' problem

    9. #28
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      The Sky upgrade program that runs on the router periodically attempts to download a new flash image from http://dg834gt.skyfirmware.com/MAC, where MAC is the mac address of the router. Presumably, the upgrade server is running some kind of customised web server which allows Sky to restrict the upgrade to specific routers.

      If the fetch succeeds, the router will be reflashed without seeking the approval of the user.

    10. #29
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      Thanks for the waning, Russ. (Post#27)
      I will remember not to beta test for Sky.

      What I still don’t understand is why Sky believe they will be able
      to force an upgrade and take no responsibility if it goes wrong.

      Whenever I download a program or upgrade from other companies
      (paid and free) I am given the option to accept or decline.
      There is usually a box you tick, which legally absolves the seller of
      responsibility if something goes wrong and you accept.
      This is even done for critical upgrades from Microsoft.
      Why does this not apply to Sky?
      Last edited by murdock; 23-01-08 at 02:30 PM. Reason: Post reference added

    11. #30
      reech's Avatar
      reech is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Wolverhampton
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OK really guys were is this new FW for the V1 routers.

      I think it doesn't apply to Sky because they own the router. They can do whatever they want with the router, your service, and your connection.

      I would hope that, should anything go wrong, you could wave goodbye to them in that case However, if nothing goes wrong, then there's no need to worry.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION