Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

    This is a discussion on Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi guys I wonder if somebody could take a look at my router stats and advise if I could be ...

    1. #1
      newtonuk's Avatar
      newtonuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYLOF
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wakefield
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      Hi guys

      I wonder if somebody could take a look at my router stats and advise if I could be getting a better connection speed?

      Thanks in advance.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed-router-stats.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      reboot the router - 15.5 is a known bug with attenuation levels...

      also, see the first link on my sig and post FULL stats...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      newtonuk's Avatar
      newtonuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYLOF
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wakefield
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      Yes, I've got a different attenuation now... Here's the verbose stats...

      Do I need to wait a little while longer before posting them?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 33.0 20.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.8
      Max(Kbps): 9440 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1763 1761
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 239886 14968
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 572919 0
      Data Cells: 0 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 22 0
      Total time = 1 min 1 sec
      SF = 1763
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 1 sec
      SF = 1763
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 1 sec
      SF = 1763
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Thanks again.

    5. #4
      iangilf's Avatar
      iangilf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: kent
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      259
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      ask sky to change you over to adsl2+ as you are on mode adsl1 when they change the mode u will see alot higher speeds

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      Given the att of 33 you should theoretically realise around 14meg on adsl2+. However this is dependant on your line being relatively error free. Your stats relate to too short a period to determine if this is so. Get them again after 24 hours use and they will show a better picture.


    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      Don't get in touch with Sky just yet. Your best bet would be to plug in to the TEST socket, behind the Master socket and take your stats from there. This will rule out any internal wiring errors. If you remain relatively error free for 24 hours, call Sky then and ask for a move to ADSL2+. If you have a lot errors on your line, you will be wasting your time and money calling Sky.

      Unless a line gives very good results when Sky connect it, they invariably put Max customers on G.DMT. Your line has probably shown errors, so you have been put on G.DMT. Remove the errors and there is a good chance you will be put on ADSL2+ with a much better speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      ^ what he said!
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    9. #8
      newtonuk's Avatar
      newtonuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYLOF
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wakefield
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      Thanks everyone.

      I'm plugged in to the BT Master socket anyway with an ADSL prefiltered faceplate from Clarity. So hopefully that should remove any issues with extensions introducing extra noise etc.

      If I post my stats again after 24 hours would you guys take another look and let me know what you think again? It would be much appreciated.

      Thanks again.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      ADSL faceplates are the bee's knees in my opinion, but just in case the faceplate is faulty, I would still advise using the test socket.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Router Stats - Can I Get Better Speed

      i have an XTE-2005 and haven't looked back, great bit of kit...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION