Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Ports "un-forwarding"?

    This is a discussion on Ports "un-forwarding"? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; So basicly, The problem is about once every day or so I have to re forward my ports for uTorrent. ...

    1. #1
      Dazzy's Avatar
      Dazzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ports "un-forwarding"?

      So basicly, The problem is about once every day or so I have to re forward my ports for uTorrent. Does this happen to anyone else? And, I'm using the Sagem router.

      My Stats:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 16379 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 10.5 db 4.2 db
      Noise Margin 12.8 db 15.5 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Ports "un-forwarding"?

      Not sure what you mean. Is the router losing the settings?

      Sure you've given your PCs fixed IPs? Otherwise when the router gives out a new IP the portforwarding rules you've set up won't map any more.

      Lovely connection by the way

    4. #3
      Dazzy's Avatar
      Dazzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports "un-forwarding"?

      The router doesn't loose its settings as far as I can see.. And my PC and laptop are fixed to 192.168.0.2 and 192.168.0.3 respectively.

      Maybe a screenshot would help..



      For some reason, I can never use the same port again so I have to change it each time it happens...
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Ports "un-forwarding"?-untitled-3.jpg  

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Ports "un-forwarding"?

      Quote Originally Posted by Dazzy View Post
      For some reason, I can never use the same port again so I have to change it each time it happens...
      That's odd. Do you run any internet controlling applications such as a firewall/intrusion prevention system that may be kicking in and blocking the ports?

    6. #5
      Dazzy's Avatar
      Dazzy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports "un-forwarding"?

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      That's odd. Do you run any internet controlling applications such as a firewall/intrusion prevention system that may be kicking in and blocking the ports?
      Nope.

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Ports "un-forwarding"?

      Haven't got a clue then - not seen this reported before.

      All I can think of would be to do a router reset back to default settings, reboot the router then enter the portforwarding again.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ports "un-forwarding"?

      I am not sure whether it is relevant, but the action radio button does not appear to be ticked and I am confused why it should be numbered service number 0.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION