Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 96

    Warning About Sky and Routers

    This is a discussion on Warning About Sky and Routers within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; as the UN and PW for the ADSL are hidden, then no you can't as you wont know what UN ...

    1. #41
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      as the UN and PW for the ADSL are hidden, then no you can't as you wont know what UN and PW to put in the new router. This would also be against the T&Cs that you have signed up to as the T&Cs state you must use a router provided by sky and thus you should contact sky to send a replacement router.

      However, if you pop over to the 'Extracting Username and Password' forum on skyuser, then you will get the answer you are looking for (http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/extra...ter-passwords/).
      Last edited by reddwarfcrew; 02-02-08 at 12:22 AM. Reason: added URL


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      worcesterman47's Avatar
      worcesterman47 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: charles street 01905 724
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      worcester
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      However, if you pop over to the 'Extracting Username and Password' forum on skyuser, then you will get the answer you are looking for.
      i have just checked extracting password etc & i do NOT intend to try that route ..final question...i have seen some posters on this thread mention buying a sky router from ebay..in the event of not getting a replacement router from sky itself...would an ebay one work ? or again would i still need to know my username & password...final question..honest !!
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-02-08 at 11:40 AM. Reason: Fixed broken quote

    4. #43
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      There is a non-destructive and very simple method to extract the connection details, requiring no technical skill, discussed in the forum. As has been made clear, if you use these details in another router you would be breaking Sky's T&Cs with as yet unknown consequences.

      If you buy someone else's router on Ebay and use it, that would, currently, work. Again you would be breaking Sky's T&Cs if you did this but rather more emphatically than by using your own non Sky router. Not only would you not be using the router that Sky supplied to you but you'd be using someone else's and their username and password.

    5. #44
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      It may work, it depends whether Sky have deactivated the username and password that's programmed into the router. At the moment, they don't seem to do that routinely, but I'm sure Sky will have noticed the large numbers of Sky routers for sale on eBay and it's only a matter of time before they start deactivating routers belonging to people who have left Sky, and routers that have been reported as having broken down, for which Sky has sent a replacement.

      The Sky Broadband Terms and Conditions do require you to use the router which Sky supplied to you. Using a router that was originally owned by someone else still breaks the T&C's, even if it happens to have a Sky label on it.

      EDIT: Saturday beat me to it.

    6. #45
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      As was mentioned in another thread surely the sale of goods act overrides this idea that goods come with only 12 months warranty? Ill be keeping my slightly intermitent router in a box just in case once the replacement arrives

    7. #46
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      That's a good point. People have been able to claim that an item which has failed, but shortly after the warranty period, wasn't "fit for purpose" because you would reasonably have expected the item to remain functional for longer.

      I think the fact that Sky do not appear to have any proper mechanism for replacing warranty-expired routers, and the fact that they insist on you using only the router supplied to you by them would give a pretty good basis for a claim under the SoGA.

    8. #47
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      If you buy someone else's router on Ebay and use it, that would, currently, work. Again you would be breaking Sky's T&Cs if you did this but rather more emphatically than by using your own non Sky router. Not only would you not be using the router that Sky supplied to you but you'd be using someone else's and their username and password.
      For a target price of around 20 including postage, a Sky V1 router flashed back to standard Netgear firmware is not bad insurance against your own router failing just when you need it, while you await the replacement.

      Still against the T&C's but at least you can use your own username and password, or even just the power supply which presumably is allowed!

    9. #48
      edwardw's Avatar
      edwardw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYDEW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      241
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      just spoke to CS after my router failing
      its out of warrenty
      but she said she can escalate the procedure and send me a new one still!
      Connected @ 13mbit on SkyMAX

    10. #49
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      My router failed this week and it's out of warranty. When I phoned up after going through all the "What light's do you see?" questions I was told they would replace it and a new one would be with me after 5 days. Luckily I've got a spare modem to use in the meantime. They asked for my routers MAC or SN and didn't ask any questions regarding how long I'd had it for or anything. Wondering whether it will turn up now or not??

    11. #50
      elbodno's Avatar
      elbodno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Warning About Sky and Routers

      Hi,
      My original netgear router has died on me totally, and up to now I didn't realise that I could have extracted my username and password . Is there any way of extracting these without plugging in the router i.e. using the MAC code and the serial number of the router? Sorry if there's an answer elsewhere! I've got a zoom x6 router, and planning on using this, since sky are being rather uncooperative to say the least!
      Also, apparently sky have blocked some people from using their own routers - is this just a block from sky broadband, or the entire sky package?
      Cheers

     

     
    Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION