Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Bandwidth usage

    This is a discussion on Bandwidth usage within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hi guys, how can i tell what my bandwidth usage is from the sky router. is there anyway of finding ...

    1. #1
      newcomers's Avatar
      newcomers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bandwidth usage

      hi guys,

      how can i tell what my bandwidth usage is from the sky router. is there anyway of finding out?

      thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Bandwidth usage

      Hmm, not really. And there's nothing on "My Sky" that tells you anything. There's a suspicion that Sky isn't actually monitoring data allowances at all. It would be a little unfair to have a policy whilst not giving their customers a means of monitoring usage.

      Apparently, there are programs which you can install on your PC to monitor usage, but I've never actually used one.

    4. #3
      newcomers's Avatar
      newcomers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bandwidth usage

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Hmm, not really. And there's nothing on "My Sky" that tells you anything. There's a suspicion that Sky isn't actually monitoring data allowances at all. It would be a little unfair to have a policy whilst not giving their customers a means of monitoring usage.

      Apparently, there are programs which you can install on your PC to monitor usage, but I've never actually used one.
      how about under the statistics page?

    5. #4
      dflour69's Avatar
      dflour69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hastings
      Posts
      258
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Bandwidth usage

      I use NetMeter: you can get it here:

      http://www.metal-machine.de/readerror/

      It's simple to use, does what you want and, above all, it's FREE

    6. #5
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Bandwidth usage

      Quote Originally Posted by newcomers View Post
      how about under the statistics page?
      That only tells you the number of packets transmitted and received, and a packet can be any length between a few bytes to 1 kilobytes. Also, if the router resyncs for any reason, the WAN statistics are, if I remember correctly, reset to 0.

    7. #6
      newcomers's Avatar
      newcomers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bandwidth usage

      Quote Originally Posted by dflour69 View Post
      I use NetMeter: you can get it here:

      NetMeter 1.1.3 (stable) released

      It's simple to use, does what you want and, above all, it's FREE
      will that monitor all traffic on my network, as i have several clients, and i need a total bandwidth usage.

    8. #7
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Bandwidth usage

      The only way you could easily monitor all systems on your LAN from 1 single location is to monitor them using SNMP, and then you wold need a system/server that was constantly on to make sure of accurate monitoring.

      If there is or could get SNMP going on your router then you could monitor all traffic that passes through it.
      In order to monitor by SNMP you would need a tool like this Paessler | Bandwidth management software - monitor and manage bandwidth with PRTG. but I know there are one or two free ones, which unfortunately need some configuration in order to work...
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION