Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 32 of 34 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 LastLast
    Results 311 to 320 of 335

    Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

    This is a discussion on Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm going to try this, I've made is so Bounce Sky Router Application automatically reboots the router on NM of ...

    1. #311
      Sc00by22's Avatar
      Sc00by22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      72
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      I'm going to try this, I've made is so Bounce Sky Router Application automatically reboots the router on NM of 6.2, Hopefully this should make it more stable


    2. Advertisement
    3. #312
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Thanks to the original poster here and others elsewhere;

      My parents' Sky Broadband connection has been victim to the 'regular grinding to a halt after about half an hour' problem.
      They use a laptop wirelessly with a USB dongle bought from Sky.
      Following the advice here seems to have improved things, although their Noise Margin figures always seem quite high (15-20dB, which is good?) so I assume turning off UPnP in the router may have been the more significant fix (?).

      I think I also finally set up their wireless security properly, thanks to another tutorial on this site.

      I worked on their connection last night, and today they told me they successfully used the internet for a couple of hours with no problems, so apparent success there. I hope it lasts.
      I've been grappling with their flaky connection on and off for ages, so hopefully I/we have finally got them sorted.

      Lee

    4. #313
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Quote Originally Posted by leecovuk View Post
      their Noise Margin figures always seem quite high (15-20dB, which is good?)
      That rather depends.

      If they are on a package which offers speeds below the potential for their line then this will lead to a high noise margin, otherwise it is often a sign of a capped connection i.e. Sky have detected a problem and have reduced the line speed/router sync to compensate.

      If you would like help with further improving your parents connection then there are several bits of reading which may help you e.g. the first sticky in my signature plus the Cabling and Faceplate Help forum. You may wish to start your own thread in the Sky Broadband Help forum, giving connection details and very importantly, the router's stats.

    5. #314
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Hello Saturday,

      I believe they are on the Connect tier. If the exchange checker linked to on this site is correct, then their exchange is some reasonable distance away. I don't know if their line has been capped, but they seem to achieve around 2Mbps which seems reasonable to me.

      If they continue to find they can stay connected for at least a couple of hours, I'm going to let things lie and leave well alone now ! They're not heavy internet users but as things were it was too poor even for their needs.

      By the way, I read somewhere that the Netgear should still be connected via the ethernet cable when you first boot the pc up with the dongle plugged in; ie the first time you attempt to set up to go wireless .... is this true, and why would that improve things? I can't recall if I did things like that or not. I know I connected successfully via ethernet, then shut down the laptop, plugged in the dongle, and restarted the laptop. I think I unplugged the ethernet before that last start up.

      If relevant, something I still noticed on their wireless connection was the message 'acquiring network address' which seemed to hang around for a while, if not all the time. Again, I can't recall offhand if I ever saw that status change.

      Lee

    6. #315
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      If they are on Connect and are some distance from the exchange then they're not capped and the high noise margin signifies that the exchange equipment has detected line problems (noise) and has reduced sync/increased noise margin to compensate.

      Having the PC connected by wire at the same time as wireless won't improve the wireless. It is only necessary when setting up the wireless as making changes to the wireless settings may cause the wireless connection to be lost i.e. use a wired connection when setting up wireless.

      If the PC is taking a long time to get an address this could be caused by a poor wireless quality connection. This will also significantly reduce speed and will often cause an intermittent connection. Even if you decide not to address the probable line noise issue I'd strongly advise improving the wireless connection - see the wireless forum for info and advice.

    7. #316
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Thanks again, Saturday, all noted.

      Presumably the logic behind being wired when adjusting the wireless settings (in the router's browser interface) is simply that you will lose the interface if the wireless connection drops. ie you won't be able to see and use the interface.

      Lee

    8. #317
      Left Ova Crack's Avatar
      Left Ova Crack is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Ive got a bizzare problem. Im all happily connected through wireless (after a lot of hassle of zero config and my housemate forgetting the password) and i get good speed. I have an iphone that i charge with the connected usb dock. nothing fancy just the standard little white block, essentially a usb extension to make the iphone stand upright.

      Some times if i put the phone in or take it out, or if i recieve a text or phone call, i lose the connection and it wont locate it again unless i restart.

      Has anybody had a similar problem or know a solution?

    9. #318
      tuk089's Avatar
      tuk089 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Hi all, useful information here but it has not fixed my problem!! I still suffer loss of connection during surfing and emailing etc which is very frustrating. Limited help from sky has angered me to the extent that I am like to move form sky after less that 6 months service. Previously with BT and although the package was expensive (26pm, compared to 5pm with sky) the connection was very reliable.
      If anyone can help in trying to fix my problem I am willing to try.
      If I cannot get sky to provide a new router (which I suspect is the problem) can I replace it myself and configure it?

      Kind regards
      tuk089

    10. #319
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Post your router stats and start your own thread, you will get more help that way.

    11. #320
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Quote Originally Posted by tuk089 View Post
      If I cannot get sky to provide a new router (which I suspect is the problem) can I replace it myself and configure it?
      Are the drop outs the ADSL connection dropping or could it be a wireless problem?

      As Smithy says, it might be better if you start a new thread explaining in more detail the nature of the problem.

      Yes, you can use your own router (many do) but you'll be breaking Sky's T&Cs.

     

     
    Page 32 of 34 FirstFirst ... 223031323334 LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 14-10-13, 06:33 PM
    2. 25-07-13, 08:09 AM
    3. 02-10-08, 10:51 AM
    4. 28-03-08, 08:11 PM
    5. 28-03-08, 05:21 PM
    6. 22-03-08, 11:24 AM
    7. 06-03-08, 06:18 PM
    8. 18-02-08, 08:50 PM
    9. 16-01-08, 10:35 PM
    10. 11-01-08, 11:15 PM
    11. 23-12-07, 08:52 PM
    12. 08-12-07, 04:23 PM
    13. 17-11-07, 10:15 AM
    14. 16-11-07, 04:00 PM
    15. 13-08-07, 06:13 PM
    16. 16-07-07, 07:19 PM
    17. 15-07-07, 12:50 PM
    18. 13-07-07, 02:49 AM
    19. 12-07-07, 09:23 AM
    20. 11-07-07, 07:29 PM
    21. 10-07-07, 01:25 PM
    22. 08-07-07, 03:55 PM
    23. 06-07-07, 05:02 PM
    24. 05-07-07, 10:09 PM
    25. 05-07-07, 09:56 PM
    26. 03-07-07, 09:25 PM
    27. 02-07-07, 10:45 PM
    28. 02-07-07, 07:55 PM
    29. 30-06-07, 07:16 PM
    30. 30-06-07, 03:38 PM
    31. 29-06-07, 09:25 PM
    32. 29-06-07, 03:17 PM
    33. 29-06-07, 03:05 PM
    34. 27-06-07, 02:08 PM
    35. 08-06-07, 12:12 AM
    36. 07-06-07, 07:44 PM
    37. 19-05-07, 08:51 PM
    38. 14-05-07, 09:13 PM
    39. 19-03-07, 05:46 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION