Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 30 of 34 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast
    Results 291 to 300 of 335

    Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

    This is a discussion on Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Thanks Saturday. I'm editing this post as I'd like your opnions of my router stats please-they are: ADSL Link Downstream ...

    1. #291
      puretoon's Avatar
      puretoon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEGF
      Broadband ISP: o2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Newcastle upon Tyne
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Thanks Saturday.

      I'm editing this post as I'd like your opnions of my router stats please-they are:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5472 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 26.0 db 18.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.0 db 14.0 db

      I'm not that far from the exchange but, as previously mentioned, that (candle on a saucer-not my description but Skys) still flickers, speed drops a lot and the connection faulters mostly tea time and evenings. When I mentioned the flicker Sky told me it shouldn't flicker if the conenctions stable, so it's got me wondering?? for the life of me I can't remember light flickering like this or as much with the Speed touch.........

      I've now also been told, after Sky's checked my exchange, that my exchange allows up 3 mg! apparently thats why the speeds keep going up and down. I'm not happy hearing this as I would have expected the exchange being very local and near to give better speeds than that!

      So are my above stats ok then anyone?.......please.........
      Last edited by puretoon; 01-08-07 at 05:33 PM. Reason: new info found


    2. Advertisement
    3. #292
      Kaoscontrol's Avatar
      Kaoscontrol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      i would also like to know what a decent Noise Margin should be? because after doing as said

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 15323 kbps 764 kbps
      Line Attenuation 24.0 db 12.8 db
      Noise Margin 9.1 db 12.5 db


      that is what i received in the first minute and the NM changes from 9.1 - 9.4

      also what does uPnP actually do?

    4. #293
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Quote Originally Posted by Kaoscontrol View Post
      i would also like to know what a decent Noise Margin should be?
      Read this.

      Quote Originally Posted by Kaoscontrol View Post
      also what does uPnP actually do?
      Google is your friend.

    5. #294
      gas69's Avatar
      gas69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01737
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      I've followed just about every bit of advice and tutorial offered from this site and have given up in total dispondency! I appreciate peoples patience with this router but my NM starts at 6.9 and drops progresivly to 3-4 all the time, despite trying everybodies well ment advice i refuse to use the reboot software get by and have refitted my old dg834 and had 24 hours of connection--drop free-- despite monitoring the NM stats that show a drop to 1 occasionaly! Surley OUR provider ought to be doing something to resolve this blatent fault with their equipment rather than THE WELL MEANING (no offence ment or intended) finding stopgaps!

    6. #295
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      New sky firmware is due out soon, in answer to your question, YES our provider is. Remember the firmware (whilst spec'd by sky) is actually made by netgear, the same company who makes your dg834.

    7. #296
      gas69's Avatar
      gas69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01737
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Thanks for the heads up on the firmware update. I appreciate netgear are the hardware supplier but why has SKY messed with the firmware (it hasnt stopped people here "playing"). Its been posted elswhere on here netgear released an update sometime ago but SKY appear to be a little behind, dont you think.

      I'm only venting my spleen as this appears to be a long standing issue, with no "advertised" solution.

    8. #297
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Yeah I know where you are coming from.

      There are varying opinions as to why sky have customised the FW. Whether its right or wrong is debateable.

      There are also 2 new routers due out at some point.

    9. #298
      jimscrivener's Avatar
      jimscrivener is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Hi

      New Sky Broadband user. Excellent forum and thanks to all who have posted so much useful stuff.

      Just got my Sky Max - First two days disconnecting all the time - I usually get about 20 mins - sometimes on for less than a minute. Always needs a reboot. Yet I've found that using my old Netgear router (same model name/number minus the "T") works without problem - holds the connection.

      So my question (which I'm sure has been answered somewhere but after having read here for hours - it is a bit daunting when each key thread seems to have 20+ pages - I can't find) is ...

      What exactly have Sky or Netgear done to this particular router that is causing these disconnection problems? Why does almost the same model work so much better? Is it some setting that has been deliberately set at an inapproriate level?

      And I wish I could track down some clear concise detailed beginner's guide to using that Mognuts utility page. (And btw The Sky Bounce router is an excellent piece of work - but I don't know enough yet for it to have solved my problems).

      Jim

    10. #299
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      OK - here's a quick guide to disconnection problems:

      Line errors will cause disconnections but whether you have a poor line I can't say as you haven't posted any stats. If you do have a line problem, disconnections caused by errors happen after a few hours or days of connection until they build up to a level where the connection can't cope. They don't usually happen at regular times of day or very frequently. Rebooting the router "clears" the errors which then start to build again repeating the cycle.

      The UPnP "bug" will also cause disconnections but most commonly these will happen very regularly, every 15 minutes or so, occasionally not as frequent as that. Have you turned UPnP off as this will avoid the bug?

      If you're getting disconnections at certain times of day e.g. evenings then look to a falling noise margin as the problem. See the first sticky in my signature.

      If the disconnections are completely random and fairly frequent then it may be intermittent noise spikes either caused by an external influence (e.g. thermostat kicking in) or a wiring/router cable fault.

      HTH

    11. #300
      jimscrivener's Avatar
      jimscrivener is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hastings
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      Hi Saturday,

      I'm not sure if your message is a reply to mine - but as I said I am working through all the threads and I am trying to take advice from them. I was hoping not to re-ask qs that have been answered before. So I'll see if what is here already can help - though sometimes it can be hard to unpick exactly what to do.

      My question was specifically about what was different between a router that seems to work without the disconnection problem (Netgear 834G) and one which is almost identical but doesn't work for me at all (sky's Netgear 834GT). In other words what has been done to screw it up?


      One extra comment - the auto reboot of Bounce Sky Router doesn't always manage to restart my disconnections - so I seem to have a problem that the bandage doesn't fit.

      I will post stuff in a few days if problems not resolved.

      Ah - just as I'm about to post the connection has gone again ...

      Jim

     

     
    Page 30 of 34 FirstFirst ... 202829303132 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 14-10-13, 06:33 PM
    2. 25-07-13, 08:09 AM
    3. 02-10-08, 10:51 AM
    4. 28-03-08, 08:11 PM
    5. 28-03-08, 05:21 PM
    6. 22-03-08, 11:24 AM
    7. 06-03-08, 06:18 PM
    8. 18-02-08, 08:50 PM
    9. 16-01-08, 10:35 PM
    10. 11-01-08, 11:15 PM
    11. 23-12-07, 08:52 PM
    12. 08-12-07, 04:23 PM
    13. 17-11-07, 10:15 AM
    14. 16-11-07, 04:00 PM
    15. 13-08-07, 06:13 PM
    16. 16-07-07, 07:19 PM
    17. 15-07-07, 12:50 PM
    18. 13-07-07, 02:49 AM
    19. 12-07-07, 09:23 AM
    20. 11-07-07, 07:29 PM
    21. 10-07-07, 01:25 PM
    22. 08-07-07, 03:55 PM
    23. 06-07-07, 05:02 PM
    24. 05-07-07, 10:09 PM
    25. 05-07-07, 09:56 PM
    26. 03-07-07, 09:25 PM
    27. 02-07-07, 10:45 PM
    28. 02-07-07, 07:55 PM
    29. 30-06-07, 07:16 PM
    30. 30-06-07, 03:38 PM
    31. 29-06-07, 09:25 PM
    32. 29-06-07, 03:17 PM
    33. 29-06-07, 03:05 PM
    34. 27-06-07, 02:08 PM
    35. 08-06-07, 12:12 AM
    36. 07-06-07, 07:44 PM
    37. 19-05-07, 08:51 PM
    38. 14-05-07, 09:13 PM
    39. 19-03-07, 05:46 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION