Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Sagem Router Problems

    This is a discussion on Sagem Router Problems within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hey all, new customer with sky broadband (max service), impressed with the speeds available but the router itself isnt that ...

    1. #1
      russellwilson01's Avatar
      russellwilson01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Milton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem Router Problems

      hey all,

      new customer with sky broadband (max service), impressed with the speeds available but the router itself isnt that great.

      After playing around with the HTTP-Config page i seem to have most things working, only two things i cant do is,

      A, setup remote administration on the router
      B, Access anykinda of VPN (PPTP or L2TP)

      after even more playing i have discoverd,

      Ports

      21 (FTP but it rejects all connections)
      23 (Telnet but again rejects all connections)
      53 (Domain ?)
      and 80 for the config page

      are all open.

      Also on the sky cd provided there seems to be an application given called CURL i belive this is for flashing the Router.

      Anyone got any idears on how to unlock/flash/get vpn working?

      Thanks in advanced for any help

      Rus


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      there are a lot of issues regarding vpn with the sagem routers - no one has got round it as yet...

      and there is no way to flash the router - and even if you did it would delete the username/password rendering the router as a nice paper weight...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by russellwilson01 View Post
      after even more playing i have discoverd,

      Ports

      21 (FTP but it rejects all connections)
      23 (Telnet but again rejects all connections)
      53 (Domain ?)
      and 80 for the config page

      are all open.
      They may be "open" from your side of the router, but that doesn't mean they're accessible from outside. (To be pedantic about it, they're not actually open if they reject a connection, they're closed. This means that the attempt to connect on that port has been explicitly rejected, rather than quietly ignored).

      I suspect that ports 21 and 23 are in this state as a result of alternate management access being disabled in Sky's custom firmware - a lot of router allow you to telnet into the router and control it via the command line, as an alternative to controlling it via the web interface, for example.

      Port 53 will be open because the router acts as a DNS relay, for resolving domain names into numerical IP addresses. DNS can operate using TCP, as well as (more usually) UDP.

      As for VPN, you may be able to get this working if your VPN client has an option for "NAT traversal". I seem to remember that the Cisco VPN client had such an option. I've also looked at the documentation for the Nortel VPN client, and although that doesn't have such an option, there is an option at the server end which will allow NAT traversal.
      Last edited by James67; 06-01-08 at 03:36 PM.

    5. #4
      russellwilson01's Avatar
      russellwilson01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Milton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      Yep those ports are open from internal only BUT seem to all reject connection,

      Lucky thing is i have two sagem routers as sky messed up my order the 1st time so i can brick one and not give it two thoughts .

      Going to try to aquire the sagem origional firmware to take a closer look at the backend of the firmware. hopefully giving me some insight into how to crack it.

      Also there seems to be a flash utility called curl supplied with the setup cd provided by sky trying to figure out how it actually connects but no luck as yet.

      Rus

    6. #5
      barnjp's Avatar
      barnjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      I was hoping that the new Netgear version of the router would allow VPN (Sky said they were sending me one instead of the Sagem) but received another Sagem. Will phone up again later and hopefully get them to re-send a Netgear.

      This seems like a huge oversight to me.

    7. #6
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by barnjp View Post
      This seems like a huge oversight to me.
      Well, not really. The Sky Broadband service is not intended for business or commercial use, and I can't really see many people using VPN except for business use.

    8. #7
      barnjp's Avatar
      barnjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      I have my fingers crossed that the new Netgear will allow my VPN connection. If this is the case it seems bizarre that it's allowed on one type of router but not on another without anyone really thinking about it.

    9. #8
      russellwilson01's Avatar
      russellwilson01 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Milton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      VPN does work on the sagem router,

      Cisco's VPN Client & the Microsoft version of PPTP works without any config on the router

    10. #9
      barnjp's Avatar
      barnjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      Still not working with my VPN client (Nortel)... and can't change that.

    11. #10
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sagem Router Problems

      Quote Originally Posted by russellwilson01 View Post
      VPN does work on the sagem router,

      Cisco's VPN Client & the Microsoft version of PPTP works without any config on the router
      The Cisco VPN client has an option for NAT traversal, so that'll be how that's working. PPTP doesn't make use of the "weird" protocols that the IPSec-based VPNs do, so that's why that works.

      I'm pretty sure that Nortel VPN can be made to work, but NAT traversal needs to be switched on at the server end. This is in contrast to Cisco VPN where NAT traversal can be switched on at the client end.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION