Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 27 of 27

    Belkin Router Help

    This is a discussion on Belkin Router Help within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy the link i posted in post #12... Yes so you did Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy i ...

    1. #21
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Belkin Router Help

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      the link i posted in post #12...
      Yes so you did

      Quote Originally Posted by IAmNotTheEnemy View Post
      i take great pleasure in refusing people tech support
      Really? Why does that give you pleasure yet you spend hours on this forum helping people (which is much appreciated)?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      BoilingPoint's Avatar
      BoilingPoint is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Porth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Rhondda, South Wales (UK)
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin Router Help

      Yes I have tried the username and password via cut & past

      Checked the FAQ thread thanks.

      ...........


      I wasn't meaning to tread on anyones toes or hurt anyones feelings.
      I was merely attempting to keep the thread on track.

      However, I guess the answer to my simple question is No .. there is no clear and concise guide

      I have seen posted in various threads peeps mentioning that they are using Belking Routers, so there must be a way to configure them. Could it be to do with the way sky has my fathers connection setup. He's just over the 2 mile limit (user to exchange) and they tell him he can only get a max of 1Mbps which is double what he was getting with Pipex.


      Just to clarify I've been in the computer industry for over 20 years so I'm so slouch when it comes to technical help either, but this gremlin has me stumped.

    4. #23
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Belkin Router Help

      Quote Originally Posted by BoilingPoint View Post
      Could it be to do with the way sky has my fathers connection setup.
      No, I don't think so. If you have the username/password correct and have the other parameters entered then the router should connect just fine.

    5. #24
      crocodil's Avatar
      crocodil is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      South Wales
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin Router Help

      I believe these are the stats you were asking for.



      System Up Time 00:40:34
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7929 10175 0 822 4165 00:39:00
      LAN 10M/100M 112 0 0 14 0 00:40:32
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 13515 12340 0 4476 998 00:40:22


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1248 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 11.0 db

    6. #25
      BoilingPoint's Avatar
      BoilingPoint is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Porth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Rhondda, South Wales (UK)
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin Router Help

      btw the above stats are from my fathers Netgear Router.
      Forgot I was logged in under his username at the time.

    7. #26
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Belkin Router Help

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Yes so you did



      Really? Why does that give you pleasure yet you spend hours on this forum helping people (which is much appreciated)?
      i meant refusing people who use their own routers...i like catching people out

      i actually prefer to help here - people have a bit more knowledge so its easier to help...
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    8. #27
      BoilingPoint's Avatar
      BoilingPoint is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Porth
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Rhondda, South Wales (UK)
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Belkin Router Help

      Finally got it working today.

      Had a phone call about 10 mins ago and the connection hasn't dropped once and seems a little quicker too. So touch wood the router supplied by SKY seems to have been the offender. I know need to test longer, but initial impressions are very favorable.

      I'm glad that SKY now supply a better quality router, it's just a shame that when members have identified the router to be at fault, it then proves so difficult for them to get SKY to swap it for one of the new ones.
      One of the problems I believe is the lack of consistency when phoning for help. Maybe a case worker would be an idea and your assigned case worker could (if their busy) call you back later in the day and together a rapport would be established and fault finding and router replacements etc... would be a lot smoother.

      Thanks to everyone for their help

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION