Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

    This is a discussion on Internet constantly deciding to cut out... within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey This is my first post..so umm..I'll try to explain as well as I can..although it's pretty self-explanatory... Every so ...

    1. #1
      AsleepOrDead's Avatar
      AsleepOrDead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      Hey
      This is my first post..so umm..I'll try to explain as well as I can..although it's pretty self-explanatory...
      Every so often, the internet on anything connected to my Netgear router will cut out, sometimes will connect back in a few minutes, and on rare [and rather annoying] occassions, will take much longer
      As, I'm sure you can understand, it's really annoying when you're trying to do something and the internet cuts out...especially when you're on Xbox LIVE or something because that won't connect again for a good 10 minutes and by that time it will cut out soon enough again lol
      I'm guessing it's not a wireless problem as such, because the XBox loses connection even though it's plugged in to the router with an ethernet cable
      And whenever it cuts out, from what I've seen at least, all of the lights stay on and green..So to be perfectly honset I'm baffled XD
      Any help to make it more stable [and faster because the speeds seem to drag] and to stop this constant cutting out would be very much appreciated! =]

      Thanks [in advance]
      Chris


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kpax88's Avatar
      kpax88 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Belfast
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      I'm not sure for the xbox as I don't got1 or seen1 :P but if its a computer try this.


      Master Socket (Avoid extension cables) and ensure a microfilter on every possible telephone or telephony device (fax, television etc) remove all the devices though for troubleshooting.

      Once physical has been done try this on the computer.

      Optimise browser settings (tools > internet options if its ie)
      remove proxy, restore advanced, delete all browsing etc.

      Disabled Ethernet adaptor in device manager and re enable it

      goto tcp/ip properties of connection
      192.168.0.x (2-244)
      255.255.225.0
      192.168.0.1

      turn of all firewalls including windows for troubleshooting

      reset the router by holding it in for 5 seconds (lights flick off and on)

      try all this and if it still does it, goto cmd and type ping 192.168.0.1 and see if u get a response when u cant access router/internet.

      Let us know what happens

    4. #3
      AsleepOrDead's Avatar
      AsleepOrDead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      Thanks for the quick reply, I actually wasn't expecting one til like tomorrow or the next day or something lol
      Well the master socket has no mains power near it as far as I know?
      And the router is upstairs because the Xbox doesnt have a wireless adapter..and the only way the two can reach is with an extension on the router XD
      But there is a microfilter on every socket etc, I do know that much lol
      The tcp/ip properties are all okay
      I'm not too sure how you et to device manager on Vista lol [got a new PC recently, still getting to grips with Vista]
      And I'm not sure which tabs the proxy settings and the rest are in when you go to internet options
      So if you could just tell me which tab they are under id much appreciate it =]
      Thanks
      Chris

    5. #4
      AsleepOrDead's Avatar
      AsleepOrDead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...


    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      Would be more useful to know if you can ping something like BBC - bbc.co.uk homepage - Home of the BBC on the Internet or Google when your connection to the router dies. If you can ping the router and get a response then that side is ok, if you cannot ping an internet site url or IP then it's an issue with the adsl side of things.
      Can you post your stats please as it may help indicate where the problems are?
      SkyUser - Router Stats V2

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      Do you have the V2 router (black)? If you have the V1, try turning off UPnP, this sometimes helps with disconnection problems.

      I don't really know what it means, but your ping times to the router seem a bit long. These are mine for comparison-

      Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:

      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64
      Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=64

      Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
      Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
      Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
      Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 0ms
      Could this mean you have a faulty cable?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      AsleepOrDead's Avatar
      AsleepOrDead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      Well the router isn't black so I'm guessing i have the V1 ruoter?
      I tried turning off UPnP and it hasn't made a difference
      And when the router dies, I can't access the internet til it works again in a minute or so so I'm guessing I cant ping websites? XD

      As for the router stats:

      448kbs downstream seems wayyy too low? That's all I understand of that table actually XD But there was never a problem with this before =S

    9. #8
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      ^^^ Normally, the higher your downstream connection speed, the lower your noise margin, and vice versa. In your case both are very low and your noise margin is on the point of dropping the connection even at 448 kbps.

      Something is causing a lot of noise on your telephone line. Start by unplugging everything from the line and just connect the router to the master (or engineer test socket if you have one) and see whether the noise margin improves.

    10. #9
      AsleepOrDead's Avatar
      AsleepOrDead is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      Quote Originally Posted by eyemdee View Post
      ^^^ Normally, the higher your downstream connection speed, the lower your noise margin, and vice versa. In your case both are very low and your noise margin is on the point of dropping the connection even at 448 kbps.

      Something is causing a lot of noise on your telephone line. Start by unplugging everything from the line and just connect the router to the master (or engineer test socket if you have one) and see whether the noise margin improves.

      Okay I'll try that
      But before I do, would this not interfere with Sky TV? Because we are running Sky Multiroom and I've been told by Sky that by having the phone line from the Sky boxes disconnected you are charged for the price of two Sky boxes as opposed to Sky MultiRoom?

      Thanks
      Chris

    11. #10
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Internet constantly deciding to cut out...

      ^^^ It shouldn't matter just to test the line as long as you plug them back in again afterwards. You have got both Sky boxes plugged into ADSL filters haven't you?

      The purpose of using the test socket is to chack whether the problem is with your internal telephone wiring or the line itself.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION