Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Loss of Wirelessness

    This is a discussion on Loss of Wirelessness within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Right, I think I am slowly going insane. I'm using one of the older, white dg834gt netgear routers that I ...

    1. #1
      Grinned2death's Avatar
      Grinned2death is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Loss of Wirelessness

      Right, I think I am slowly going insane.

      I'm using one of the older, white dg834gt netgear routers that I can no longer get a wireless signal out of (and on the odd occasions that I do, I sit at "Acquiring Network Address" before it disappears).

      I have been away at university for three months and it seems to be in this time that the 'rents have managed to break it Apparantly a power cut originally knocked it out, but after unplugging it for a day and reconnecting it, it came back. The connection is not being picked up by 3 computers in the house, but we are occasionally picked up next doors...

      I've tried to update the firmware (from here) but it says that it is the wrong version.

      The connection works fine when connected with an ethenet connection.

      I wouldn't say that I was a novice with computers, but when it comes to Wireless connections Im a bit in the dark. Can anyone help me through? I can't sit in the living room any more!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Loss of Wirelessness

      Just in case the "rents" changed something in the router you could set it back to defaults by holding in the reset button for 10 seconds.

    4. #3
      Grinned2death's Avatar
      Grinned2death is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of Wirelessness

      Would this revert it back to its original out-of-the-box sky settings or to its base netgear settings?

    5. #4
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Loss of Wirelessness

      As long as it's not been reflashed in the meantime (and by the fact you couldn't upgrade it it hasn't) then yes "its original out-of-the-box sky settings".
      You can tell if it's still the SKY firmware by checking its firmware version is V1.02.28

    6. #5
      Grinned2death's Avatar
      Grinned2death is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of Wirelessness

      Ok, i've reset the router but it hasn't helped. The wireless icon isn't lit up on the main panel if that helps. The firmware is at v.1.02.28.

    7. #6
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Loss of Wirelessness

      My wireless icon goes on/off as I toggle the "Enable Wireless Access Point" in the routers Wireless settings (dont forget to press apply each time you change it). If yours doesn't then the router must be faulty and you will need to ring sky.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION