Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Won't connect

    This is a discussion on Won't connect within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm posting on behalf of my sister, she's just changed to sky BB . Her phone line had problems which ...

    1. #1
      lisat's Avatar
      lisat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Won't connect

      I'm posting on behalf of my sister, she's just changed to sky BB. Her phone line had problems which BT eventually sorted out, I mention this cos it may be relevent, the timing seems a bit odd, Now her phone line is working again but when she tries to connect she gets

      "error 769 either you specified a destination address that is not valid or your remote access server is down"

      I have tried navigating to 192.168.0.1 but always get "page cannot be displayed" She's rung sky but they haven't a clue and say her ethernet cable is faulty BUT when you connect/disconnect it from PC the lights come on and go off so it seems to be working ok. Her OS is xp home. I'm not sure what speeds and stuff shes on but she's got the sky/phone/bb package so i assume thats standard. Any help will be much appreciated, thanks in advance!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: Won't connect

      usually when BT fix a line problem they disconnect the BB. Now, they might have done one of 2 things doing this: -

      1. just unjumpered the BB and a quick fault logged to BT will get it fixed, or;
      2. they've actually ceased the service on the line.

      was the line properly disconnected for billing issues? if so, point 2 might be in affect which is about a 2 week fix. IF it was just an issue on the line hopefully logging to BT will solve it in a matter of hours....
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Won't connect

      If it is a line problem that won't explain why you can't access the router. I would suggest you check the network adapter is enabled correctly and check that Tools-Internet options-Connections don't show an enabled dial-up connection

    5. #4
      lisat's Avatar
      lisat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01443
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Won't connect

      Hi, thx for the quick reply both, there was a fault at the exchange apparently but BT referred her back to sky and this was duly fixed. Does she still need to call BT or sky? If I disable any dial up connections will I need to do anything else to make sure the network adapter is enabled correctly?

    6. #5
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Won't connect

      I wouldn't contact either until you have been able to logon to the router (unless you think the router if faulty). Check in device manager that the adapter is showing and is enabled.

    7. #6
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Won't connect

      Well you can call sky and the T1 will step your through certain steps but it will cost you money and take a while. Best bet is to check in control panel, system, hardware, device manager for "Network Devices" and make sure the network device is enabled, any yellow or red icons are bad news in that screen.
      Might also want to check for proxy settings or any previous settings used for another provider if one has been used on the pc. Go into internet explorer, click tools, internet options and then click on the connections tab. In there make sure never dial a connection is set and then click LAN settings and make sure all boxes are empty.
      Does the PC have any firewall software installed?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION