Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    Wondering...

    This is a discussion on Wondering... within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; This was the last post by philosopho before he was banned. Sound familiar? how can i disable my NAT thing?...

    1. #11
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Wondering...

      This was the last post by philosopho before he was banned. Sound familiar?

      how can i disable my NAT thing?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Wondering...

      Quote Originally Posted by aganuz View Post
      ahh okie, yeah but [e.g when im going to visit my webserver using my wanip didnt work] some1 sed maybe because of NAT something like that...
      That is correct. Port forwarding only works on connections from outside your house coming in to your webserver, so only people outside your house can access your webserver using your public IP address.

      This does make it difficult to test whether you've set up port forwarding correctly, but I'm afraid there is no way around this. It is not possible to switch off NAT on the Sky router.

    4. #13
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Wondering...

      Quote Originally Posted by moleman View Post
      This was the last post by philosopho before he was banned. Sound familiar?
      Philosopho was banned!

      Did someone discover that he was actually a Virgin Media customer service agent on here just to wind us all up?

    5. #14
      aganuz's Avatar
      aganuz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      88
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Go

      ahh okie, nope even my friend can visit the webpage...oh and some1 sed im able to disable interface thing...>.< buh he aint that sure....Lol

      and is it possbile even i reboot my router my wanip wont change??

      james maybe its juz coincident that i put my e.g is webserver...
      ________
      Hawaii medical marijuana dispensaries
      Last edited by aganuz; 03-04-11 at 04:52 PM.

    6. #15
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Wondering...

      The option to disable NAT is available on most routers, but this is not available on the Sky router. I am absolutely certain of that.

      And your router's WAN IP address will change every time you reboot your router. There are ways around this (using DynDNS) but it's a bit complicated to explain.

    7. #16
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Wondering...

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Philosopho was banned!

      Did someone discover that he was actually a Virgin Media customer service agent on here just to wind us all up?
      Duplicate username issue. Posts are the same though lol




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #17
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Wondering...

      Quote Originally Posted by James67 View Post
      Philosopho was banned!
      As Newsreader says, Philosopho (who had been warned about duplicate threads etc) signed up under a new username so his old one was cancelled which means it shows up as banned on the forum. If you look at Aganuz's profile I think you should be able to see a note there. I can't add one to the Philoshopho profile.

      If someone's able to help Aganuz/Philosopho then I think we'd all be grateful. He doesn't seem to be able to follow the advice or answers he's been given so far.
      Last edited by Saturday; 21-12-07 at 12:46 PM.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION