Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Max Possible connection speed

    This is a discussion on Max Possible connection speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello there, Using the excellent posts on this site I think I've worked out I should be getting a far ...

    1. #1
      paulheywood's Avatar
      paulheywood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Binley, Coventry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Max Possible connection speed

      Hello there,

      Using the excellent posts on this site I think I've worked out I should be getting a far greater speed than I do... I'm signed up for MAX but I get around 2.5M most times I check.

      My router stats imply that things are ok line wise (posted below) but SKY want me to plug the router directly into the Master socket - do my figures below indicate that the extension lead could be the problem ?

      Connection Speed 3072 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.7 db

      Cheers,

      Paul.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      Noise margin is low, try it in the master and see if that changes. If it does then it may be the extension. Does your master socket have a test socket? If the faceplate has a physical split running left to right just above the screws then you can use the hidden test socket to check if the issue is your side of the socket or the BT/ Sky side.

    4. #3
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      Connection Speed 3072 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.7 db

      could you also re-boot your router, the attn 15.5 is a bug in the old white netgear routers (not sure what router you have)

    5. #4
      paulheywood's Avatar
      paulheywood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Binley, Coventry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      Thanks for the responses gents,

      I tried router straight into the Test Socket - connection speed went up to 4416... and then worked back to where it is now. What I've discovered is that the main factor was the actual SKY TV Box connection... Router is back where it normally is with the following stats -

      Connection Speed 4288 (This is slighty less than when I wasn't using the ext lead)
      Line Attenuation 61
      Noise Margin 7.2

      I hadn't realised there was a Netgear bug (I'm using the white one) which gave the wrong line attenuation value. I guess being 61 I'm not going to get much more than the 3.6M that speedtest now reports ?

      Out of interest - what can the Digibox be doing that's affecting the line.

      Thanks.

    6. #5
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      Where was the tv line plugged in? If it wasn't in the filter then that would be the problem.

    7. #6
      paulheywood's Avatar
      paulheywood is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Binley, Coventry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      Cheers PaulSky - The TV connection has it's own filter, but it's a ropey old bit of wiring where it connects to the master socket... could that be it ?

      How do I find out if I'm on this Magical ADSL2+ ? And would it help me ?
      Last edited by paulheywood; 19-12-07 at 03:32 PM.

    8. #7
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      With an attenuation of 61 theres no way that sky will put you on adsl2+ as it will undoubtably make your connection worse. Due to the higher frequencies it operates at it is only suitable for shorter low attenuation connections, as the line/attenuation gets longer/higher it will attract errors and there is a point, unfortunately a lot less than 61, where it becomes unviable.


    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      The TV connection has it's own filter,
      You are not confused with the splitter are you. Filters are not included with Digi boxes, you have to fit one yourself. These boxes contain a type of dial up modem which causes more problems than an ordinary phone.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Max Possible connection speed

      If you're using a "plug-in" type of telephone extension cable for the Sky TV box (I get the feeling from what you've written that you might be), try putting the microfilter at the master socket end of the extension cable, rather than at the TV end.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION