Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    New Sky Router

    This is a discussion on New Sky Router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have moved house recently and got the new sky router and had problems already. First i cannot connect to ...

    1. #1
      nblyth's Avatar
      nblyth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sky Router - Unable To Log Onto and Connection Problems

      I have moved house recently and got the new sky router and had problems already. First i cannot connect to the router to change anything i have tried with ethernet cable and wireless. I get the login box but when i put admin and sky in it comes up page cannot be displayed. When i go back to parents and use my old sky setup i left i get on that router fine.
      I have tried resetting router several times and nothing seem to work.

      Problem two is on 2 occasions now when i have returned to flat and turned router on i get no connection to internet. All the lights are on and it connects fine to the router with IP address and gateway etc but no web pages load, they are waiting for connection.

      Last night i noticed in network connections i had wireless connection enabled and my LAN disabled but i noticed a 3rd connection called internet connection. So i disabled this and it vanished and reconnected to router and i was fine. Has anyone seen this before and explain to me what happened as this never happens at my old place.
      Last edited by nblyth; 14-12-07 at 01:46 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router - Unable To Log Onto and Connection Problems

      internet connection sounds like UPnP raising its head - did it give your connection speeds to the net? if so, turn off UPnP in the router and see what happens
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: DG834GT + TL-WR702N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      825
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 31 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router - Unable To Log Onto and Connection Problems

      The OP said
      Quote Originally Posted by nblyth View Post
      First i cannot connect to the router to change anything
      So he/she can't turn off the UPnP

      nblyth: You could take the router to your parents and try it temporarily there to see if you can access it.

    5. #4
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router - Unable To Log Onto and Connection Problems

      I think I would look for the reset button on the router -- that should restore the Sky defaults including the user-interface password.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      I have tried resetting router several times and nothing seem to work.
      When you are resetting, make sure the router is powered on and hold the button in for at least 10 seconds.

      With regards your own router, did you use the CD to set it up? If so it may have given you an Internet icon which was causing a conflict. The CD is not required to set up the router, only for the AV if you want it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      nblyth's Avatar
      nblyth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      I did not setup the CD and i have tried on 4 occasions to do a 10 second reset - i have tried everything i can think of to be honest. So until i can get onto router i cannot change any settings on it. When i got my old router at parents place i remember changing router settings like UPnP but i cannot do it currently until i can get on router.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Press the reset button on the back until the test light blinks. This usually takes about 10 seconds, but can take more.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      nblyth's Avatar
      nblyth is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      Yes i have done that on a few occasions until it blinks and resets but this has not solved the issue.

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      I take it that there are no settings on your PC that may be interfering?

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sky Router

      ^^^^^^^^^^^
      I doubt if it is PC settings if the login box is appearing, then the login names fail and it does connect to the net. Although it would not normally give a 'page not found' error, it would return to the login box, 3 times,, then an System Authentication Failed error would appear.

      You could try
      the factory default for the Netgear it is - username is admin and the password is either password or 1234. I don't know what the Sagem is, but it might be the same.

      If you can't get it to work, then a call to Sky may be the only option.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION