Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Windows home server

    This is a discussion on Windows home server within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I am trying Windows Home server on a spare PC. I have 30 days before I have to make the ...

    1. #1
      nidave's Avatar
      nidave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broughton
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Windows home server

      I am trying Windows Home server on a spare PC. I have 30 days before I have to make the decision to buy it or not.

      I have 3 PC's and a networked hard disk set up at present - this will make things alot easier especaly with backing up as I regulary forget.

      Problem is I cant get any of the compauters to connect - they can see the server and is avaiable in My Network Places in the correct workgroup.

      I think I have set the firewall rules to allow 55000 and 56000 but am not 100% sure if its correct. the ip address if the server is static at 192.168.0.9

      Can anyone give me any ideas? (I have disabled the firewalls on the PC until I get this working then will try to configure them)

      I am not paticulary good on the whole subject - can jsut about muddle through.

      Thanks
      Dave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      the_sky_goat's Avatar
      the_sky_goat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01243
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      636
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows home server

      I'm not familiar with Home Server, but so you have to add each computer to a user list or something on the server?

      If the computers can see the server but clicking on it returns an error stating that the user is not authorized to see that resource then generally you would have to create a username and password on the server which matches the username and password on the computer.
      .

      .
      Sky Email Help
      Skoogle Webmail Portal
      Skoogle Account Unlock Page
      Skoogle Tips & Solutions from Skyuser



      Don't tie yourself to your ISP's email system

      www.gmail.com - free email service.
      www.google.com/a - Choose Google Apps for your domain -
      Email, Calendar, Docs, Website.

      You could also try one of these 12 free email services:


    4. #3
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Windows home server

      It depends on how you are setting this up. If your only using shared folders then its pretty easy.

      I have always shared particular drives on my server and folders and created appropriate groups and usernames. Then I had to add the groups or user to each resource to either allow, full rights or deny them.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Windows home server

      According to M$
      Is Windows Home Server Difficult to set up?
      No.Windows Home Server is easy to set up and configure from any PC in the house, using the Windows Home Server Console. You will need to simply plug in the power and connect your Windows Home Server to the broadband router, and then install the Windows Home Server Connector software from a CD onto each PC you wish to automatically backup every night.
      Did you run the CD on each PC? That seems to be all there is to it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Windows home server

      I take my words back. Never looked at it that way. Always preferred my own way lol.
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

    7. #6
      nidave's Avatar
      nidave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broughton
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows home server

      I have run the CD - it says it cannot connect to the server - there is also a server icon in my network places that is supposed to bring up the configuration page.
      I have not created the users on the server yet as I cannot connect.
      The diagnostics fail then trying to connect port 55000 and 56000. I think its the firewall in the router.

    8. #7
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Windows home server

      Quote Originally Posted by nidave View Post
      I think its the firewall in the router.
      The router's firewall sits between the external network (i.e., the Internet) and the internal network (i.e., your PCs). It doesn't block any communication between your PCs.

      (Well, unless they're connected wirelessly and you have Wireless Isolation option set on the router, which it isn't by default).

    9. #8
      nidave's Avatar
      nidave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Broughton
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows home server

      Right - thats ruled that out - BUGGER!

    10. #9
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Windows home server

      Obvious question but the other pc's are on the 192.168.0.x network?

    11. #10
      HSNetwork's Avatar
      HSNetwork is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLRF
      Broadband ISP: Max going to O2 Pro
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Nottinghamshire
      Posts
      506
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      6

      Re: Windows home server

      Another obvious question perhaps, but not knowing anything much about this particular release of windows server, but has it got an inbuiolt windows firewall that could be blocking access. I know that when I had server 2003 it downloaded and installed sp1 automatically and the firewall was blocking all sorts :s
      Regards,

      Tom (HSNetwork)

      A Word of advice :-
      "Dont ever p*** of your Network/System/Server Admin. Any responsible IT Admin will know more about you than you know about yourself, just ask those that have wronged me.


      How to set up Wireless on your Ipod Touch / IPhone (PDF including pictures)
      How to set up Sky Emails on your Ipod Touch / Iphone (PDF including pictures)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION